Skip to main content

Collection of mostly sacred 18th-century vocal music

 Single Item
MS. Mus. c. 592

  • Request

Collection of mainly sacred 18th-century music copied in the middle of the 19th century, perhaps in Oxford (bound by the Oxford binder, Hall), ii + 81 leaves with fols. 51-55v blank. Much of the music appears to have been copied from printed editions. Two copyists were responsible for most of the work, the first on fols. 1-44 and 56-79v, the second on fols. 44v-50. A third hand is found on fols. 50-51.

a (fols. 1-37v) Leonardo Leo: Dixit Dominus, for double choir (SSATB, SATB) and orchestra in C major;

b (fols. 38-9v) John Reynolds: My God, my God look upon me. Anthem for SATB and organ (figured bass);

c (fol. 40) John Wall Callcott: Father of light and life. Words only for a 'hymn'; set out on the page for the music to be fitted, but abandoned at the end of the page. No composition with this title traced;

d (fols. 40v-41) George Frideric Handel: 'Handel's 5th concerto'. Concerto in D major, op. 6 no. 5, 1st movt, arranged for organ. Incomplete, breaking off after 33 bars of the Allegro;

e (fols. 41v-42) Joseph Haydn: 'Haydn's Agnus Dei arranged by [Vincent] Novello'. From the Missa in Angustiis (Nelson Mass) [Hob. XII:11]. For SATB and organ. The first 40 bars only;

f (fols. 42v-44) Joseph Haydn: 'Et incarnatus'. From the same mass. For SATB soli, SATB chorus and organ;

g (fols. 44v-45) William Boyce: 'Full anthem, Psalm 137'. Trio section 'If I forget thee', only, from 'By the waters of Babylon'. For ATB and organ (figured bass);

h (fols. 45-46) Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: 'Pater de coelis. Treble solo & quintette [for SSATB], arranged from Mozart's Idomeneo by V. Novello. [For use] at Benediction'. Arranged from the March in Act 3. With organ acc.;

i (fols. 46v-47v) Peter Winter: 'Quartetto, bass solo & chorus. Arr[ange]d from Winter by V. Novello'. Begins: Jesu audi nos. With organ acc. Original unidentified;

j (fols. 47v-50) [Anon.].: 'Et incarnatus est'. For S solo, SATB chorus and organ. In A flat major;

k (fol. 50) 'Preston. Psalm 63 (M.V.) Ver. 1,2'. Psalm tune arr. for organ'

l(fol. 50v) [Anon.].: Opening of a setting of 'Blest are the departed'. 4 bars only in G flat major;

m (fols. 56-60) William Boyce: 'The Lord will preserve him'. Duet for AT and orchestra from the anthem 'Blessed is he that considereth the poor'. In full score;

n (fols. 60v-66) George Frideric Handel: Excerpts from Jephtha [HWV 70]: Symphony and air, 'Happy Iphis' (nos. 36-7); Symphony and air, 'Welcome as the cheerful light' (nos. 20-1). In full score;

o (fols. 66v-67v) Benedetto Marcello: 'Duetto for two tenors (may be sung by two sopranos). Begins; O hold thou me up. Arrangement of 'Dunque ti degna' from Estro poetico-armonico, Psalm 16. With organ acc. (figured bass);

p (fols. 67v-68v) Agostino Steffani: 'Duetto for two sopranos'. Begins: O praise the Lord. With organ acc. (figured bass). Original unidentified;

q (fols. 68v-79v) George Frideric Handel: Excerpts from Jephtha, HWV 70: Recit., ''Tis well, haste, haste ye maidens' (no. 16); Recit., 'Such news flies swift' (no. 25); Recit., 'Why is my brother thus afflicted' (no. 23); Air, 'On me let blind mistaken zeal' (no. 24); Recit., ''Twill be a painful separation' (no. 4); Air, 'In gentle murmurs' (no. 5a); Air, 'Dull delay' (no. 6); Quartet, 'O spare your daughter' (no. 25). In full score.


  • Creation: mid-19th cent.


83 Leaves

Language of Materials

  • English
  • Latin

Preferred Citation

Oxford, Bodleian Libraries [followed by shelfmark, e.g. MS. Mus. c. 592, fols. 1-2].

Please see our help page for further guidance on citing archives and manuscripts.


MS. Mus. c. 592

Collection ID (for staff)

CMD ID 15944


Collection of predominantly sacred 18th-century vocal music, mostly copied from printed editions in the mid-19th century.

Biographical / Historical

Leonardo Leo (1694-1744) was a composer and teacher. See Grove Music Online for further details.

John Wall Callcott (1766-1821) was a composer and theorist.See Grove Music Online for further details.

George Frederick Handel (1685-1759) was a composer. See Grove Music Online for further details.

Joseph Haydn (1732-1809) was a composer. See Grove Music Online for further details.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791) was a composer. See Grove Music Online for further details.

Peter Winter (1754-1825) was a composer. See Grove Music Online for further details.

William Boyce (1711-1779) was a composer, organist and editor. See Grove Music Online for further details.

Benedetto Giacomo Marcello (1686-1739) was a composer and writer. See Grove Music Online for further details.

Agostino Steffani (1654-1728) was a composer, churchman and diplomat. See Grove Music Online for further details.

Custodial History

Bookplate of James Bellamy (1819-1909), St. John's College. Oxford. Former shelfmark (Faculty of Music Library): M.S.L. 8. b. 14.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Transferred from the Faculty of Music Library, 1995.

Physical Facet

Binding: half calf with buckram covered boards.


Folio (390 × 285 mm)

Collection of mostly sacred 18th-century vocal music
EAD version 2019 by Hannah Jordan and Margaret Czepiel
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom