Skip to main content

'Stabat Mater a quattro voci', by Joseph Haydn

 Single Item
MS. Mus. d. 228

  • Request

'Partitura coll' aggiunta di diversi Instrumenti a fiato, cioè 2 Flauti, 2 Clarinetti, 4 Corni, Fagotti, Tromboni e Timpani, eseguita dal Sig. Maestro Niccola Benvenuti di Pisa'.

(a) (fols. 1v-162v) Full score for use by copyists, with vocal parts and instrumentation for strings and wind (oboes and cors anglaises) as in the published edition of John Bland (London, undated), with additional figured bass; the extra wind parts referred to on the title page are added in different ink.

(b) (fols. 163-176) Score of the additional wind and timpani parts only, from which (a) appears to have been copied, in a different hand.

(c) (fols. 178-181v) Parts for bassoons, trumpets, trombones and horns, omitted for reasons of space from fols. 102v-129 of (a).


  • Creation: 1801-1850


182 Leaves

Language of Materials

  • Italian

Preferred Citation

Oxford, Bodleian Libraries [followed by shelfmark and folio or page reference, e.g. MS. Mus. d. 228, fols. 1-2].

Please see our help page for further guidance on citing archives and manuscripts.


MS. Mus. d. 228

Collection ID (for staff)

CMD ID 10342


'Stabat Mater a quattro voci' [Hob. XXIIbis, G minor], by Joseph Haydn, first half of the 19th cent.

Biographical / Historical

Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809) was a composer. See Grove Music Online for further details.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Bought, 1964.

'Stabat Mater a quattro voci', by Joseph Haydn
EAD version 2019
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom