Skip to main content

'Son of God', three motets for unaccompanied double SATB chorus, [1956]

MS. Mus. b.459

  • How to
Three motets: 'The Nativity', based on Henry Vaughan’s “Awake, glad heart get up and sing”; The Crucifixion' using the words “Christ comes to Calvary. Dark grows the angry sky”; and 'The Ascension' based on William Drummond’s words, “Bright portals of the sky, embossed with sparkling stars”.

Fair copy with sketches and notes and hologram copies of each motet soft-bound individually. All are scores with piano accompaniment for rehearsal only.


  • [1956]


1 box


MS. Mus. b.459

Separated Materials

Edward Arnold edition of 1958 and Kronos edition of 1974 are catalogued on SOLO. The latter attributes the words of the second motet to Jack Playfair.

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom