Skip to main content

Photostats of the Papers of Eight Cases Brought in Chancery and the Court of Exchequer


  • How to

Negative photostats

Photostats of the papers of eight cases brought in Chancery and the Court of Exchequer:

  1. case brought by William Pulteney against Robert and William Alexander, merchants, involving a number of provincial London bankers, 1776-8
  2. case brought by John Bindley against Alexander Fordyce, Samuel Roffey, Henry Neale and William James, bankers, 1769
  3. shipping-insurance case brought by a number of underwriters against John Bindley, 1768
  4. case brought by Henry Boldero, banker, against his brother John Boldero, 1765
  5. case brought by John Townson against Gerrit Blaavw of Amsterdam, merchant, who had gone bail for Lauchlin Macleane, 1773
  6. case brought by John Wilkes trying to evade payment of debt to Joseph Burd and John Elias Jaquery, printers, 1771
  7. case brought by Lord Ralph Verney against Lauchlin Macleane, 15 Dec. 1769
  8. case involving assignees of the estate of Sir George Colebrooke, banker under commission of bankruptcy, Laurence Sulivan and Robert Palk against Ambrose Gilbert, Jonas Brown, Isaac Mallison and Henry Sowley, 1778
  9. entries of Thomas Coutts and Co.'s subscriptions for themselves and to the government, 1759-83.


  • Creation: 1765-1778


0.60 Linear metres (3 boxes)

Language of Materials

  • English

Preferred Citation

Oxford, Bodleian Libraries [followed by shelfmark and folio or page reference, e.g. MSS. Facs. a. 6].

Please see our help page for further guidance on citing archives and manuscripts.

Full range of shelfmarks:

MSS. Facs. a. 6-8

Collection ID (for staff)

CMD ID 12853


Photostats of the Papers of Eight Cases Brought in Chancery and the Court of Exchequer.

Biographical / Historical

The Court of Chancery was the court of equity developed in the 15th century to provide remedies not available in the courts of common law. It was abolished by the Judicature Act of 1873, which formed the Chancery Division, one of the three Divisions of the High Court of Justice, in its place.

The Court of the Exchequer was formed to handle financial matters, but had begun to develop an equity jurisdiction by the mid-sixteenth century. In 1841 it lost this jurisdiction, and any outstanding work was transferred to the court of Chancery. The business of the court included disputes over titles of land, manorial rights, tithes, mineral rights, ex-monastic land, debts, wills, etc.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Given to the Library by the Principal of Lady Margaret Hall in 1971.

Physical Facet

Negative photostats

Photostats of the Papers of Eight Cases Brought in Chancery and the Court of Exchequer
Collection Level Description by Susan Thomas; EAD version 2021 by Hannah Jordan
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom