Skip to main content

'10 Sonate à 3. G. Avitrano Neopolitano'

 Single Item
MS. Mus. Sch. e. 427 (Former reference: Music School B. 4. 31)

  • Request

Manuscript copy of the Sonatas for 2 violins, cello and organ by Giuseppe Antonio Avitrano, op. 1, as published in Naples by M.L. Muzio in 1697.

Violin 1, fols. 2v-9v; violin 2, fols. 26v-41; violoncello obbligato, fols. 46v-61v; organ, fols. 68v-83. A note on fol. 1 reads 'All play'd and corre[cte]d'.


  • Creation: early 18th cent.


1 box

Language of Materials

  • English
  • Italian

Preferred Citation

Oxford, Bodleian Libraries [followed by shelfmark and folio or page reference, e.g. MS. Mus. Sch. e. 427, fols. 1-2].

Please see our help page for further guidance on citing archives and manuscripts.


MS. Mus. Sch. e. 427 (Former reference: Music School B. 4. 31)

Collection ID (for staff)

CMD ID 17379


G. Avitrano. 10 sonatas, op. 1 (as published, Naples: M.L. Muzio, 1697), early 18th cent.

Biographical / Historical

Giuseppe Antonio Avitrano (?1670-1756) was an Italian composer and violinist. See Grove Music Online for further details.

Other Finding Aids

Robert Hake, [Catalogue of the Music School Collection], c 1850-1855. No. CXXXIII.

Falconer Madan, et al., A summary catalogue of western manuscripts in the Bodleian Library at Oxford which have not hitherto been catalogued in the Quarto series (7 vols. in 8 [vol. II in 2 parts], Oxford, 1895-1953; reprinted, with corrections in vols. I and VII, Munich, 1980), vol. V, no. 26562.

Custodial History

This item is part of the Music School collection of printed and manuscript music, which was originally bequeathed to the University of Oxford by William Heather (c 1563-1627), and gradually added to until the end of the 18th century.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

The collection was transferred to the Bodleian in 1885.

Physical Facet

4 instrumental parts in one volume, iv + 88 leaves. Each part on a single quire. Watermark, Fleur de Lys, countermark IV. Ruling, 10 5-lined staves, red marginal ruling. Grey paper covers.


Oblong quarto

'10 Sonate à 3. G. Avitrano Neopolitano'
EAD version 2019
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom