Skip to main content

Three part-books containing English music

 Single Item
MSS. Mus. Sch. e. 447-449

  • Request

Three part-books containing English viol music for 2 trebles and a bass, copied by F. Withy, partly from MSS. Mus. Sch. e. 451-6, and bound for 'H.G.', late 17th cent. The parts are (i) 1st Treble, (ii) 2nd Treble, and (iii) bass. Not quite complete, with Withy's list of contents in i (fol. 1) being slightly incorrect; but some pieces are marked 'ex[amined]'.

1-14: Mr. Will Young. 14 numbered airs.

1-8. D minor [VdGS Allemand 1-5, Corrente 1-3; Meyer 112-119]. i and iii, fols. 5-8v; ii, fols. 3-7v. Nos. 2 and 4 are marked by Withy 'very good', no. 5 'good. ' Explanation of his method of showing rests in triple time are in iii, fols. 6, 8v.

9-14. C minor. [VdGS [Alm] 1-6; Meyer 131-137]. i and iii, fols. 9-12v; 11 and 12 in reversed order in iii; ii, fols. 8-10v.

15-20. [Stephen Crespion / Crispin] 'Mr. S: C'. 6 airs in A major: 3, Corant, 4 and 5, Gavottes, 6, Jigg. 1st treble in ii, 2nd treble in i. i, iii, fols. 13v-14v; ii, lacking 19 and 20, fols. 11v-12.

21-32. Mr. Will Marshe [Marsh]. 12 airs in D major. i and iii, fols. 15-17v; ii, fols. 13-15v.

33-39: Mr. John Jenkins. 7 airs, copied from MSS. Mus. Sch. e. 431-6, nos. 4 (p. 33) and 5, to which occasional page references appear in iii:

33. Corant in B flat major [VdGS 79]. i, iii, fol. 19; ii, fol. 17.

34-39. C minor [VdGS 62-67]. i, iii, fols. 20v-23; ii, fols. 18v-21.

40-47. [Pieter Picart]. 'German' airs, in B flat major. Described as 'Outlandish Ayres' in the index. 41, Ballet; 44, Jigg; 45, Symphony; 46-50, which are incomplete or lacking in ii and iii, include Symphony, Corant, and Saraband. i, fols. 23v-28v; ii, fols. 21v-25, iii, fols. 23v-26v.

51-55. 'Mr. Arther [Arthur] Phillips'. 5 airs [VdGS 4-9], Pavan and a slow air in C minor, Pavan, [Air] and Corant in G minor. 1st treble in ii, 2nd treble in i. i, fols. 29v-31; ii, fols. 25v-27; iii, fols. 28-29.

56-61. 'Mr. Will. Kinge' [King]. Suite of 6 pieces in D major [VdGS 1-5], [Act Music, probably copied from the score in MS. Mus. Sch. c. 44, 11]. 56, 'Almane before the Songue', etc. i, fols. 33v-35v; ii, fols. 29v-31v; iii, fols. 31v-33v.

62-76. Christopher Simpson. Three suites of airs copied from MSS. Mus. Sch. e. 431-436, 17-19 (p. 145):

62-65. C minor [VdGS 19-22]. Alman, Air, Corant, Saraband. i, fols. 38v-40; ii, fols. 35v-37; iii, fols. 38v-40.

66-71. F major [VdGS 7-12]. Pavan, Ayre, Corant, Air, Saraband, Ayre. i, fols. 40v-43; ii, fols. 37v-40; iii, fols. 40v-43.

72-76. D minor [VdGS 13-17]. Alman, Galliard, Ayre, [?], Galliard. i, fols. 44v-46v; ii, fols. 40v-42v; iii, fols. 43v-45v.

77-79. John Bannister [Banister]. 'Braules' in F major. i, fols. 47v-48; ii, fols. 43v-44; iii, fols. 46v-47.

80-81. Two pieces in C major, lacking all but 1st treble. The names 'Mr. Dea... ' and 'Moun. Gerdla' appear. i, fol. 49v.

82-83. Samuel [sic for Sampson] Estwick ['Mr. Rich: Goodson' crossed through] Overture and Ritornello. Described in iii as 'Instrumental Musick made for the Theatre in Oxford July Anno [16]81'. Lacks 2nd treble. i, fols. 50v-51; iii, fols. 47v-48.

84-89. Richard Goodson [I]. [Music for the Theatre, 8 July 1681, copied by E. Lowe in MSS. Mus. Sch. e. 443-446], in B flat major. Almaine, Minuet, Gavot, Saraband, Jig, Brouch. Lacks 2nd treble. i, fols. 51v-52v; iii, fols. 48-49v.

90-92. Three movements attributed to 'Mr. H.A.' on i, fol. 1. [If this is Henry Aldrich, the copy was made between the Act (July 1681) and Aldrich's D.D. (2 March 1681/2)]. Prelude and Ayre, Jigg, and Saraband in G minor. i, fols. 53v-54; ii, fols. 48v-49; iii, fols. 51v-52.

93. Pencil addition in all parts, a piece in B flat major (6/4 time). i, fol. 54v; ii, fol. 50v; iii, fol. 53v.

93a. Ground in [crossed C] time. i, fol. 54v.

94. 2-part piece in G minor (6/4 time). In score. ii, fol 50v.


  • Creation: late 17th cent.


1 box

Language of Materials

  • English

Preferred Citation

Oxford, Bodleian Libraries [followed by shelfmark and folio or page reference, e.g. MS. Mus. Sch. e. 447, fols. 1-2].

Please see our help page for further guidance on citing archives and manuscripts.


MSS. Mus. Sch. e. 447-449

Collection ID (for staff)

CMD ID 17540


Three part-books containing English music for 2 trebles and a bass, late 17th cent.

Biographical / Historical

Francis Withy (c 1645-1727) was a Cathedral singer, string player, music copyist, teacher and composer. See Grove Music Online for further details.

Other Finding Aids

Falconer Madan, et al., A summary catalogue of western manuscripts in the Bodleian Library at Oxford which have not hitherto been catalogued in the Quarto series (7 vols. in 8 [vol. II in 2 parts], Oxford, 1895-1953; reprinted, with corrections in vols. I and VII, Munich, 1980), vol. V, nos. 26586-26588

Viola da Gamba Society Thematic index of music for viols [online] (VdGS)

RISM 800272351

Custodial History

This item is part of the Music School collection of printed and manuscript music, which was originally bequeathed to the University of Oxford by William Heather (c 1563-1627), and gradually added to until the end of the 18th century.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

The collection was transferred to the Bodleian in 1885.


  • Ashbee, Thompson and Wainwright, The Viola da Gamba Society index of manuscripts containing consort music (Aldershot: Ashgate, 2001-2008) [and online (VdGS)], vol. 2, pp. 207-211a.

Physical Facet

56, 52, and 55 leaves; each book consists of 6 gatherings of 8 leaves of music paper, to which in i, fol. 26 and in iii, fol. 42 were inserted as extra leaves. Blank leaves of different paper are at the beginning and end of each part-book. Music paper: watermark, Fool's Cap, slightly resembling Heawood 1988; ruling, five staves, margins at both edges. Bound for H. G., whose initials, with a crowned rose, are stamped in gold on each cover; white vellum with gold fillets and ornament, strings missing.


Oblong quarto

Three part-books containing English music
EAD version 2019
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom