Skip to main content

A composite volume of instrumental parts

 Single Item
MS. Mus. Sch. d. 261 (Former reference: Quarto B. 1-6)

  • Request

A composite manuscript, made up of various unrelated sections, falling into two distinct parts:

MS. Mus. Sch. d. 261, fols. 7-38:

  1. Figured bass of 8 sonatas inscribed 'Correct' on fol. 7. In F major, D minor, C major, G major, G minor, B flat major, D minor, F major. Bound in marbled paper, black leather label stamped in gold. Fols. 7-15 [fols 16-26 blank].
  2. 'Sonata a Viola [da gamba] Solo by signr. Pardini' [with figured bass accompaniment]. Score. Copied or owned by Tho. Bennet. Fols. 27-28v.
  3. 'Violino Secondo' of 44 airs. Fols. 30-33v.
  4. 3 arias: (a) 'Scacciato dal suo nido' [HWV 19/21] from G.F. Handel's Rodalinda; (b) 'No oh Dio' [from G. Bononcini's Calfurnia?]; and (c) 'Tamo tanto sung by Sig. Senesino in [Ariosti's] Artaxerxes'. Score. Fols. 35-38. On fol. 37 was added another song, 'As down in the meadow'.

MS. Mus. Sch. d. 261, fols. 39-76: Two formerly separate manuscripts, copied by the same expert hand that annotated the parts in MSS. Mus. Sch. d. 241-244. The contents are marked 'ex[amined]'. Probably all belonged to Theodore Colbey, and the hand may be his (see A. Ashbee, Chelys (1969), p. 8), mid-17th cent. Fols. 61 and 76 are the cover, inscribed by Edward Lowe after March 1665 'Organ Partes to Mr. Jenkins fancies Division for 3 partes. prickt in the Bookes with vellim covers & given mee by Mr. Colbius Organist of Exeter'. Fols. 39-76, together with MSS. Mus. Sch. d. 241-244, are on the 1682 list of the Music School Collection as no. 26.

1-9: John Jenkins: Division lessons for 2 basses and a treble [VdGS Field Group III]. Airs (Fancy, Allemand and Courant; no. 3 has 2 Courants) intermittently numbered [I]-XXVII.

10-16: John Jenkins: 'a 2 Violon con Viola'. Suites of 'Fancy' and 'Ayre', numbered I-XIV [VdGS Field group VI].

  1. G minor [VdGS 1]. Fols. 39-42.
  2. A minor [VdGS 2]. Fols. 42v-44.
  3. A minor[VdGS 3]. Fols. 45-46v.
  4. B flat major [VdGS 4]. Fols. 47-49v.
  5. C major [VdGS 5]. Fols. 50-52.
  6. D major {VdGS 6]. Fols. 53-54v.
  7. D minor [VdGS 7]. Fols. 55-56v.
  8. E minor {VdGS 8]. Fols. 57-58v.
  9. F major [VdGS 9]. Fols. 59-60v.
  10. G minor [VdGS 1, Meyer 7]. Fols. 62-63v.
  11. A minor [VdGS 2, Meyer 8]. Fols. 63v-65v.
  12. B flat major [VdGS 3]. Fols. 65v-67.
  13. C major [VdGS 4, Meyer 10]. Fols. 67v-69.
  14. D major [VdGS 5]. Fols. 69v-71.
  15. E minor [VdGS 6]. Fols. 71v-73.
  16. F major [VdGS 7, Meyer 6]. Fols. 73v-75.


  • Creation: Late 17th/early 18th cent.


1 box

Language of Materials

  • Italian
  • English

Preferred Citation

Oxford, Bodleian Libraries [followed by shelfmark and folio or page reference, e.g. MS. Mus. Sch. d. 261, fols. 1-2].

Please see our help page for further guidance on citing archives and manuscripts.


MS. Mus. Sch. d. 261 (Former reference: Quarto B. 1-6)

Collection ID (for staff)

CMD ID 17366


A composite volume, containing various instrumental parts, some incomplete, late 17th/early 18th cent.

Biographical / Historical

John Jenkins (1592-1678) and George Frederick Handel (1685-1759) were English composers. See Grove Music Online for further details.

Attilio Ariosti (1666-1729) was an Italian composer. See Grove Music Online for further details.

Other Finding Aids

Robert Hake, [Catalogue of the Music School Collection], c 1850-1855. [Part of] no. CXXV.

Falconer Madan, et al., A summary catalogue of western manuscripts in the Bodleian Library at Oxford which have not hitherto been catalogued in the Quarto series (7 vols. in 8 [vol. II in 2 parts], Oxford, 1895-1953; reprinted, with corrections in vols. I and VII, Munich, 1980), vol. V, no. 26552.

Custodial History

This item is part of the Music School collection of printed and manuscript music, which was originally bequeathed to the University of Oxford by William Heather (c 1563-1627), and gradually added to until the end of the 18th century.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

The collection was transferred to the Bodleian in 1885.


  • Ashbee, Thompson and Wainwright, The Viola da Gamba Society Index of manuscripts containing consort music, (Aldershot: Ashgate, 2001-2008) [and online (VdGS)], vol. 2, pp. 175-177.
  • Andrew Ashbee, 'John Jenkins’s Fantasia-Suites for Treble, two Basses and Organ. Part 1', Chelys 1 (1969), pp. 3-18.
  • E.H. Meyer, Die mehrstimmige Spielmusik des 17. Jahrhunderts in Nord- und MittelEuropa (Kassel: Bärenreiter, 1934), p. 155.

Physical Facet

iii + 79 leaves. Items 1-9: 3 gatherings of 14, 6 and 2; watermark, bend and lily, not in Heawood; ruling: 8 5-lined staves, altered to 6 lines; black marginal ruling at both edges. Items 10-16: 3 gatherings of 4, 1 of 2; watermark, initials (?) in corner, not in Heawood; ruling, 10 6-lined staves, altered from 5-lined on last bifolium.


Large upright quarto

A composite volume of instrumental parts
EAD version 2019
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom