Skip to main content

Instrumental music by Pietro Marchitelli

 Single Item
MS. Mus. Sch. d. 259 (Former reference: Music School B. 4. 19)

  • Request

Instrumental music by Pietro Marchitelli, copied by the same hand as MS. Mus. Sch. d. 249 (item 11) and d. 228 (item 22):

1-4: Unrelated parts, folded inside item 1.

1. Suite in G minor, one violin part only. Fols. 1-2v, 9-10.

2. Score, two movements in E minor, treble, bass. Fols. 3v, 7.

3. 'Toccata a violino solo' in A major. Fols. 4-5v.

4. Prelude, Allegro (see fol. 3v) and Giga in D minor. Violin part only. Fols. 6-7v.

5. 'Balletti', 2 violins, bass. Fols. 11-16.

6. Sinfonia a 3, 2 violins, viola [da gamba], figured bass. Fols. 17-24.

7. Sinfonia a 4, 2 violins, violetta, [bass missing (?)], figured bass. Fols. 25-32.


  • Creation: Late 17th cent.


1 box

Language of Materials

  • Italian

Preferred Citation

Oxford, Bodleian Libraries [followed by shelfmark and folio or page reference, e.g. MS. Mus. Sch. d. 259, fols. 1-2].

Please see our help page for further guidance on citing archives and manuscripts.


MS. Mus. Sch. d. 259 (Former reference: Music School B. 4. 19)

Collection ID (for staff)

CMD ID 17364


Intrumental music by Pietro Marchitelli, late 17th cent.

Biographical / Historical

Pietro Marchitelli (?1643-1729) was a violinist and composer. See Grove Music Online for further details.

Other Finding Aids

Robert Hake, [Catalogue of the Music School Collection], c 1850-1855. No. CXXIII.

Falconer Madan, et al., A summary catalogue of western manuscripts in the Bodleian Library at Oxford which have not hitherto been catalogued in the Quarto series (7 vols. in 8 [vol. II in 2 parts], Oxford, 1895-1953; reprinted, with corrections in vols. I and VII, Munich, 1980), vol. V, no. 26550.

Custodial History

This item is part of the Music School collection of printed and manuscript music, which was originally bequeathed to the University of Oxford by William Heather (c 1563-1627), and gradually added to until the end of the 18th century.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

The collection was transferred to the Bodleian in 1885.

Physical Facet

iii + 35 leaves. Items 1-5, watermark not visible; ruled with 10 5-lined staves. Items 6-7, watermark fleur de lys surrounded by a circle; ruled with 12 5-lined staves. Titles on outer sheets.


Upright quarto

Music by Pietro Marchitelli
EAD version 2019
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom