Skip to main content

10 sonatas for two violins, bass, and continuo, by Lelio Colista and C.A. Lonati

 Single Item
MS. Mus. Sch. d. 256 (Former reference: Music School B. 4. 16)

  • Request

10 sonatas for two violins, bass and continuo by Carlo Ambrogio Lonati and Lelio Calista, copied for or by James Sherard.

Four instrumental parts: i. 1st violin, fols. 3v-12; ii. 2nd violin, fols. 19v-28; iii. bass, fols. 35v-44 (lacks sonata 4); iv. figured bass, fols. 51v-60, inscribed 'Fines: Lelicolista'. Wrapper of i inscribed: 'Lelicolista X Sonatas'.

  1. [Lonati] G minor [W-K 34; A6]. i. fol. 3v-4; ii. fol. 19v-20; iii. 35v-36; iv. 51v-52.
  2. Colista. A major [W-K 22; D8]. i. fol. 4v-5; ii. fol. 20v-21; iii. 36v-37; iv. 52v-53.
  3. Lonati. A major [W-K 23; A3]. i. fol. 5v-6; ii. fol. 21v-22; iii. 37v-38; iv. 53v-54.
  4. [Lonati] D major [W-K 20; A4]. i. fol. 6v-7; ii. fol. 22v-23; iii. 38v-39; iv. 54v-55.
  5. [Lonati] C major [W-K 11; A8]. i. fol. 7v-8; ii. fol. 23v-24; iii. 39v-40; iv. 55v-56.
  6. Lonati. G minor [W-K 35; A2]. i. fol. 8v-9; ii. fol. 24v-25; iii. 40v-41; iv. 56v-57.
  7. Colista. C major [W-K 10; D1]. i. fol. 9v; ii. fol. 25v; iii. 41v; iv. 57v.
  8. Colista. G major [W-K 15; D4]. i. fol. 10; ii. fol. 26; iii. 42; iv. 58.
  9. Lonati. G minor [W-K 36; A1]. i. fol. 10v-11; ii. fol. 26v-27; iii. 42v-43; iv. 58v-59.
  10. Colista. D minor [W-K 33; D1d]. i. fol. 11v-12; ii. fol. 27v-28; iii. 43v-44; iv. 59v-60.


  • Creation: late 17th cent.


1 box

Language of Materials

  • English

Preferred Citation

Oxford, Bodleian Libraries [followed by shelfmark and folio or page reference, e.g. MS. Mus. Sch. d. 256, fols. 1-2].

Please see our help page for further guidance on citing archives and manuscripts.


MS. Mus. Sch. d. 256 (Former reference: Music School B. 4. 16)

Collection ID (for staff)

CMD ID 17361


10 sonatas for two violins, bass and continuo, 4 by Lelio Colista and 6 by Carlo Ambrogio Lonati, copied for or by James Sherard, late 17th cent.

Biographical / Historical

Carlo Ambrogio Lonati (c 1645-c 1710/15) was a composer, impresario, singer and violinist. See Grove Music Online for further details.

Lelio Colista (1629-1680) was a lutenist, guitarist and composer. See Grove Music Online for further details.

James Sherard [Sharwood] (1666-1738) was an amateur violinist and composer. See Grove Music Online for further details.

Other Finding Aids

Robert Hake, [Catalogue of the Music School Collection], c 1850-1855. No. CXX.

Falconer Madan, et al., A summary catalogue of western manuscripts in the Bodleian Library at Oxford which have not hitherto been catalogued in the Quarto series (7 vols. in 8 [vol. II in 2 parts], Oxford, 1895-1953; reprinted, with corrections in vols. I and VII, Munich, 1980), vol. V, no. 26547.

Custodial History

This item is part of the Music School collection of printed and manuscript music, which was originally bequeathed to the University of Oxford by William Heather (c 1563-1627), and gradually added to until the end of the 18th century.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

The collection was transferred to the Bodleian in 1885.


  • Peter Allsop, 'Problems of ascription in the Roman Simfonia of the late seventeenth century: Colista and Lonati', Music Review 50 (1989), pp. 34-44. [A].
  • Margaret Crum, 'James Sherard and the Oxford Music School Collection', conference paper (Oxford, 1986) [unpublished].
  • Lelio Colista, Complete trio sonatas, edited by Antonella D'Ovidio (Middleton, WS: A-R Editions, 2021. [D].
  • Carlo Ambrogio Lonati, Simfonie a3, edited by Peter Allsop (Crediton: Novello Orfeo Music, 1988-1993. (Italian seventeenth century instrumental music, ser. I).
  • Helen Wessely-Kropik, Lelio Colista: ein römischer Meister vor Corelli: Leben und Umwelt (Wien: Hermann Böhlhaus, 1961), pp. 113-118. [W-K]. Wessely-Kropik erroneously ascribes all the pieces in this manuscript to Colista.

Physical Facet

64 leaves. Each instrumental part occupies one quire. Watermark and ruling precisely as MS. Mus. Sch. d. 255. Parts bound in red white blue and orange marbled boards.


Large upright quarto

10 sonatas for two violins, bass, and continuo, by Lelio Colista and C.A. Lonati
EAD version 2019
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom