Skip to main content

Loose leaves of music from the collections of James Sherard and Edward Lowe

 Single Item
MS. Mus. Sch. e. 450

  • Request

58 short vocal and instrumental pieces, mainly in parts. Items 1 and 2 are from James Sherard's collection; 3-12 were accumulated during the Professorship of Edward Lowe.

  1. (fols. 1-6v) Flavio [Carlo] Lanciano. 'Regina coeli laetare' - 'a [treble] voce sola con V. V.' Score, in the same hand as MS. Mus. Sch. d. 228, 1; paper as MS. Mus. Sch. d. 249, 30-47.
  2. (fols. 7-17, 19-28v) 20 pieces for 2 viole da gamba. Parts, the second defective at end. Written in 2 hands, as MS. Mus. Sch. d. 249, 1 and 2.
  3. (fol. 29) '4 thinges of one Mr. Marshalls ... in Mr. Withys bookes', i.e. MSS. Mus. Sch. e. 447-449. Through bass copied by Lowe.
  4. (fols. 31-34) [C. Hacquart?]. 'Deus misereatur'. Violin and bass accompaniment. Incomplete copies by Lowe; other parts are in MSS. Mus. Sch. c. 12-19, 81.
  5. (fols. 37-39) 'Sonetta for one violin to the organ' [in G minor], with bass part transcribed on a separate leaf by Lowe.
  6. (fols. 41v-42) Dr. Blow. 'Go perjured man'. Singing bass copied by Lowe.
  7. (fols. 44-46) [A. Steffani?]. 'Mortale che fate'. Lowe's copies of instrumental basses and scores (voice and bass) of tenor and alto.
  8. (fol. 47) [G. Carissimi?]. 'First songe in the Musick Schoole'. 'Corete amante'. Act song. Basso continuo part. [Ascribed to Carissimi in MS. Mus. c. 595]. Lowe's copy.
  9. (fols. 49-67v.) 'Mr. Crispion' [S. Chrespion?]. Act music: four string parts of a suite in 6 movements for the Latin speech and song; and two violin and organ parts for the English song (beg. 'False bard') related to pp. 95-101 of another copy. Written by Lowe and another hand.
  10. (fols. 69-81) Suite in 8 movements, 2 violins, bass, extra bass part. The violin parts include an extra movement. Lowe's copies.
  11. (fol. 83) 2 treble pieces in B flat. Lowe's copy.
  12. (fols. 87-91) 'Another Base of Mr. Baltzars suite in D sol re [sharp]'. Complete in MS. Mus. Sch. c. 102. Lowe's copy.


  • Creation: 2nd half of the 17th cent.


1 box

Language of Materials

  • English
  • Italian

Preferred Citation

Oxford, Bodleian Libraries [followed by shelfmark and folio or page reference, e.g. MS. Mus. Sch. e. 450, fols. 1-2].

Please see our help page for further guidance on citing archives and manuscripts.


MS. Mus. Sch. e. 450

Collection ID (for staff)

CMD ID 17382


Loose leaves of music from the collections of James Sherard and Edward Lowe (collected and bound), including Oxford 'Act music', 2nd half of the 17th cent.

Biographical / Historical

James Sherard [Sharwood] (1666-1738) was an amateur violinist and composer. See Grove Music Online for further details.

Edward Lowe (c 1610-1682) was a composer, music copyist, organist and writer on music. See Grove Music Online for further details.

Other Finding Aids

Falconer Madan, et al., A summary catalogue of western manuscripts in the Bodleian Library at Oxford which have not hitherto been catalogued in the Quarto series (7 vols. in 8 [vol. II in 2 parts], Oxford, 1895-1953; reprinted, with corrections in vols. I and VII, Munich, 1980), vol. V, no. 26589.

Custodial History

This item is part of the Music School collection of printed and manuscript music, which was originally bequeathed to the University of Oxford by William Heather (c 1563-1627), and gradually added to until the end of the 18th century.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

The collection was transferred to the Bodleian in 1885.

Loose leaves of music from the collections of James Sherard and Edward Lowe
EAD version 2019
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom