Skip to main content

Italian arias, mostly by Bolognese composers

 Single Item
MS. Mus. Sch. e. 424 (Former reference: Music School B. 4. 28)

  • Request

Score copied by a professional Italian hand.

  1. (pp. 1-5) Giacomo Antonio Perti. Un timor mi stà sul core.
  2. (pp. 6-14) 'Sigr. Pollaroli' [Carlo Francesco? Pollarolo]. La sventura de le viole.
  3. (pp. 15-25) 'Sigr. Polaroli' [Carlo Francesco? Pollarolo]. O virtù di due begl'occhi.
  4. (pp. 26-39) Giacomo Antonio Perti. Care mura se un tempo.
  5. (pp. 40-49) Angelo Maria Fiorè. Vi sciolgo catene. 'Aria con violoncello obligato'.
  6. (pp. 49-54) [Bernardo Sabadini?]. Idol mio per mercede. [A ms. in F-Pn ascribes this work to Sabadini].
  7. (pp. 54-57) Giacomo Antonio Perti. Non lagrimate. 'Aria con viole senza bassi'.
  8. (pp. 58-67) Bernardo Sabadini. Non può semprè.
  9. (pp. 68-71) Giuseppe Antonio Aldrovandini. Udi l'alba i miei timori.
  10. (pp. 72-76) Giuseppe Antonio Aldrovandini. Chi à tuo pro non ebbe ardire.
  11. (pp. 77-84) Giuseppe Antonio Aldrovandini. Senza uscir da Patrii Cieli.
  12. (pp. 85-90) Giuseppe Antonio Aldrovandini. Quel dolor ch' ascende al viso.


  • Creation: late 17th cent.


1 box

Language of Materials

  • Italian

Preferred Citation

Oxford, Bodleian Libraries [followed by shelfmark and folio or page reference, e.g. MS. Mus. Sch. e. 424, pp. 1-2].

Please see our help page for further guidance on citing archives and manuscripts.


MS. Mus. Sch. e. 424 (Former reference: Music School B. 4. 28)

Collection ID (for staff)

CMD ID 17378


One section of a collection of arias mostly by Bolognese composers in score, late 17th cent.

Biographical / Historical

Biographical information of the composers represented here can be found in Grove Music Online.

Other Finding Aids

Robert Hake, [Catalogue of the Music School Collection], c 1850-1855. No. CXXX.

Falconer Madan, et al., A summary catalogue of western manuscripts in the Bodleian Library at Oxford which have not hitherto been catalogued in the Quarto series (7 vols. in 8 [vol. II in 2 parts], Oxford, 1895-1953; reprinted, with corrections in vols. I and VII, Munich, 1980), vol. V, no. 26559.

Custodial History

This item is part of the Music School collection of printed and manuscript music, which was originally bequeathed to the University of Oxford by William Heather (c 1563-1627), and gradually added to until the end of the 18th century.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

The collection was transferred to the Bodleian in 1885.

Physical Facet

ii + 96 pages, normally quired in fours. Watermark, Head. Ruling, 8 5-lined staves. Rebound in marbled paper boards, quarter calf. Edges gilt and goffered (design incomplete).


Small oblong quarto

Italian arias, mostly by Bolognese composers
EAD version 2019
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom