Skip to main content

James Sherard: Sonatas, op. 2

 Single Item
MS. Mus. Sch. d. 252 (Former reference: Music School B. 4. 12)

  • Request

'Sonate di Giacomo Sherard. Opera 2da' (fol. 44). 11 sonatas (no. 10 of the 12 is lacking). Instrumental parts (2 violins, cello and figured bass) in the hand of a professional copyist. Corrections were made by Sherard (e.g., fols. 4, 5, 46) and sections were crossed out and marked 'New', indicating that the passage had been rewritten. Published by Estienne Roger, c 1715.


  • Creation: late 17th cent?


1 box

Language of Materials

  • Italian

Preferred Citation

Oxford, Bodleian Libraries [followed by shelfmark and folio or page reference, e.g. MS. Mus. Sch. d. 252].

Please see our help page for further guidance on citing archives and manuscripts.


MS. Mus. Sch. d. 252 (Former reference: Music School B. 4. 12)

Collection ID (for staff)

CMD ID 17356


'Sonate di Giacomo Sherard. Opera 2da' (fol. 44). 11 sonatas (no. 10 of the 12 is lacking), late 17th cent.

Biographical / Historical

James Sherard [Sharwood] (1666-1738) was an apothecary, botanist and amateur musician. See Grove Music Online for further details.

Other Finding Aids

Robert Hake, [Catalogue of the Music School Collection], c 1850-1855. No. CXVI.

Falconer Madan, et al., A summary catalogue of western manuscripts in the Bodleian Library at Oxford which have not hitherto been catalogued in the Quarto series (7 vols. in 8 [vol. II in 2 parts], Oxford, 1895-1953; reprinted, with corrections in vols. I and VII, Munich, 1980), vol. V, no. 26543.

Custodial History

This item is part of the Music School collection of printed and manuscript music, which was originally bequeathed to the University of Oxford by William Heather (c 1563-1627), and gradually added to until the end of the 18th century.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

The collection was transferred to the Bodleian in 1885.


  • Margaret Crum, 'James Sherard and the Oxford Music School Collection', conference paper (Oxford, 1986) [unpublished].
  • Michael Tilmouth, 'James Sherard: an English amateur composer', Music & Letters Vol. 47, No. 4 (Oct., 1966), pp. 313-322.
  • Min-Jung Kang, 'The sonata in Restoration England: from fantasia suites to early English trio sonatas', Journal of Musicological Research, 39:4 (2020), 276-300.

Physical Facet

iii + 61 leaves. Each part is a single quire. Watermark, bend and lily, LVG. Ruling, 12 5-lined staves, red marginal ruling. The parts had no covers.


Large upright quarto

'Sonate di Giacomo Sherard. Opera 2da'
EAD version 2019
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom