Skip to main content

Instrumental music from the Sherard collection

 Single Item
MS. Mus. Sch. d. 228

  • Request

Instrumental music from the Sherard collection. Scores and parts in various hands, including Sherard himself, ii + 116 leaves. No. 2 is '15'. The date 1690 is on no. 22 and the date 1698 is on nos. 4, 15 and 23.

1-2: Sonatas 'a violone solo', with bass for organ or cembalo, in score. [Copied by the same hand as MS. Mus. Sch. e. 450, no. 1]:

1 (fols. 1-4) In A minor.

2 (fols. 5-8) In F major. '15'.

3 (fols. 9-12) [Giovanni Lorenzo Lulier]. Sonata for violin, violoncino with figured bass, by 'Giovannino del Violone' [i.e. Lulier]. Score.

4 (fols. 13-15) Trio for 2 violins and viola [da gamba]. Dated 1698.

5-10: Suites and sonatas for strings with continuo copied by one Italian hand:

5 (fols. 16-12) For 2 violins and organ.

6 (fols. 22-29) For 2 violins, violone, continuo.

7 (fols. 30-37) 2 sonatas, in G and in D, for 2 violins, violone, continuo.

8 (fols. 38-42) Sonata in E minor for 2 violins, violone, continuo.

9 (fols. 43-49) Sonata in E major for 2 violins, violone, continuo.

10 (fols. 50-61) Sonata for 4 violins, violone, continuo.

11-12: [G. Finger]. Suites for bass viol duo in autograph and copied by James Sherard. Scordatura tuning. (For attribution to G. Finger see A.W. Marshall, loc. cit. description of MS. Mus. Sch. d. 249):

11 (fols. 62v-65) In E minor [RI 177.1], autograph.

12 (fols. 66v-69) In A major [RI 174.1-5], in the hand of James Sherard.

13-14: Concertinos copied by the same hand as nos. 5-10:

13 (fols. 70-82) Cataldo Amodei. For 3 concertino instruments (2 violins and contrabass) with 2 violins, viola, violone, continuo.

14 (fols. 83-94) 'Sonata ... con Concertino', 4 violins, violone, continuo.

15 (fols. 95-98v) 'Saverio scrive 1698', sonata for 2 violins, viola [da gamba] and cembalo, inscribed: 'Paolo Parvoare (?) 1698' (fol. 98v).

16-21 (fols. 99v-106) [G. Finger]. Six sonatas [RI 145, 146, 141, 148, 144, 143], autograph (lacking continuo).

22 (fols. 107-110) 'Sinfonia a 3 del Sig. Pietro Marchitelli', 1690. 2 violins, viola da gamba, continuo. [In the same hand as MS. Mus. Sch. d. 249, item 11].

23 (fols. 111-112) Violone parts of 2 suites, one dated 1698.

24 (fols. 113-114) 'Sonata a 2 violine [and continuo] del Sig. M. Antonio Ziani'. Score. [Music School ob. fol. B. 18. 1 & 2].

25 (fols. 114v-116v) O felicissima. Counter-tenor aria with continuo. Score.


  • Creation: [1690-1699?]


118 Leaves

Language of Materials

  • Italian
  • English

Preferred Citation

Oxford, Bodleian Libraries [followed by shelfmark and folio or page reference, e.g. MS. Mus. Sch. d. 228, fols. 1-2].

Please see our help page for further guidance on citing archives and manuscripts.


MS. Mus. Sch. d. 228

Collection ID (for staff)

CMD ID 17346


Instrumental music from the Sherard collection, parts or scores copied in Italy and by Sherard himself, [1690s].

Biographical / Historical

James Sherard [Sharwood] (1666-1738) was an apothecary, botanist and amateur musician. See Grove Music Online for further details.

Other Finding Aids

Falconer Madan, et al., A summary catalogue of western manuscripts in the Bodleian Library at Oxford which have not hitherto been catalogued in the Quarto series (7 vols. in 8 [vol. II in 2 parts], Oxford, 1895-1953; reprinted, with corrections in vols. I and VII, Munich, 1980), vol. V, no. 26501.

Custodial History

This item is part of the Music School collection of printed and manuscript music, which was originally bequeathed to the University of Oxford by William Heather (c 1563-1627), and gradually added to until the end of the 18th century. This manuscript was once owned and was partly coppied by James Sherard.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

The collection was transferred to the Bodleian in 1885.


  • Margaret Crum, 'James Sherard and the Oxford Music School Collection', conference paper (Oxford, 1986) [unpublished].
  • Robert G. Rawson, From Olomouc to London: the early music of Gottfried Finger (c 1655-1730)PhD dissertation, Royal Holloway, University of London, 2002 [RI], p. 369.
  • Arthur W. Marshall, 'The viola da gamba music of Godfrey Finger', Chelys 1 (1969), pp. 16-26.
Instrumental music from the Sherard collection
EAD version 2019
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom