Skip to main content

Music for two violins with other instruments

 Single Item
MS. Mus. Sch. c. 70 (Former shelfmark: Music School A. 5. 7)

  • Request

Copied in score, presumably for James Sherard, apparently by the same hand as MSS. Mus. Sch. c. 31, items 2-3, c. 32, item 13, c. 51, and c. 93, item 1.

1. (pp. 1-49) 12 sonatas for 2 violins, bass and basso continuo, 'Autore Antonio Luigi Baldassini da Fabriana', op. 1, 1691. Three quires (14, 10, 2); watermark, Coat of Arms, countermark AI; ruling, 15 5-lined staves.

2. (pp. 53-121) 12 sonatas for 2 violins, bass and basso continuo. Four quires (12, 12, 8, 4); watermark, Lion, countermark resembles Heawood 3138; ruling, 12 5-lined staves, red marginal ruling.

3. (pp. 125-141) Two [sonatas], for two violins and bass: in E major with basso continuo and in E flat. A different hand copied the end of the E major and the whole of the E flat sonata. Quire of 8 (details as item 2).

4. (pp. 143-169) Four 'Sinfonie' [suites] for two violins, bass, basso continuo: in A minor, G minor, D minor and E minor. Quire of 12; watermark, Coat of Arms, CVH (see Heawood 1793), countermark I VILLEDARY; ruling, 15 5-lined staves, one added by scribe, red marginal ruling.

5. (pp. 171-203) Thomas Lupo. [5-part fantazias, VdGS 5, 4, 2, 1, 3, 6-10]. Quires of 10, 8 (details as item 4).


  • Creation: early 18th cent?


1 box

Language of Materials

  • English
  • Italian

Preferred Citation

Oxford, Bodleian Libraries [followed by shelfmark and folio or page reference, e.g. MS. Mus. Sch. c. 70, pp. 1-2].

Please see our help page for further guidance on citing archives and manuscripts.


MS. Mus. Sch. c. 70 (Former shelfmark: Music School A. 5. 7)

Collection ID (for staff)

CMD ID 17296


Music for two violins with other instruments, early 18th cent?

Biographical / Historical

Of the two violinists and composers named, Antonio Luigi Baldassini (1649-1720) was from Italy and Thomas Lupo (bap 1571?-1627/8?) from England.

Other Finding Aids

Robert Hake, [Catalogue of the Music School Collection], c 1850-1855. No. XXXIX.

Falconer Madan, et al., A summary catalogue of western manuscripts in the Bodleian Library at Oxford which have not hitherto been catalogued in the Quarto series (7 vols. in 8 [vol. II in 2 parts], Oxford, 1895-1953; reprinted, with corrections in vols. I and VII, Munich, 1980), vol. V, no. 26435.

RISM 800263021

Custodial History

The Music School collection of printed and manuscript music was originally bequeathed to the University of Oxford by William Heather (c 1563-1627), and gradually added to until the end of the 18th century.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

The collection was transferred to the Bodleian in 1885.

Physical Facet

Bound in marbled boards, resembling cover of MS. Mus. Sch. c. 51. The quires were numbered [for the binder (?)].

Music for two violins with other instruments
EAD version 2019
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom