Skip to main content

Sonatas by Johann Rosenmüller

 Single Item
MS. Mus. Sch. d. 248

  • Request

Parts for eleven of the twelve sonatas by Johann Rosenmüller, published as 12 Sonate à 2, 3, 4 e 5 stromenti da arco e altri & Basso cont. (Nuremberg, 1682) (no. 3 is lacking). Copied by James Sherard (1666-1738).

  1. Sonata 1: Violin 1, fols. 3v-4; violin 2, fols. 2v and 5; bass, fols. 1v and 6.
  2. Sonata 2: Copied on the versos of Sonata 1.
  3. Sonata 4: Violin 1, fols. 10v-11; violin 2, fols. 9v and 12; viola [da gamba], fols. 13v and 8; basso continuo, fols. 14v and 7.
  4. Sonata 5: Copied on the versos of Sonata 4.
  5. Sonata 6: Violin 1, fols. 18v-19; violin 2, fols. 17v and 20; viola [da gamba], fols. 16v and 21; basso continuo, fols. 15v and 22.
  6. Sonata 8: Violin 1, fols. 27v-28; violin 2, fols. 26v and 29; violetta, fols. 25v and 30; viola [da gamba], fols. 24v and 31; basso continuo, fols. 23v and 32.
  7. Sonata 7: Copied on the versos of Sonata 8.
  8. Sonata 9: Violin 1, fols. 38v-9; violin 2, fols. 37v and 40; violetta 1, fols. 36v and 41; violetta 2, fols. 35v and 42; viola [da gamba], fols. 34v and 43; basso continuo, fols. 33v and 44.
  9. Sonata 10: Copied on the versos of Sonata 9.
  10. Sonata 11: Violin 1, fols. 50v-1; violin 2, fols. 49v and 52; violetta 1, fols. 48v and 53; violetta 2, fols. 47v and 54; viola [da gamba], fols. 46v and 55; basso continuo, fols. 45v and 56.
  11. Sonata 12: Copied on the versos of Sonata 11.


  • Creation: Late 17th cent.


56 Leaves

Language of Materials

  • English

Preferred Citation

Oxford, Bodleian Libraries [followed by shelfmark and folio or page reference, e.g. MS. Mus. Sch. d. 248, fols. 1-2].

Please see our help page for further guidance on citing archives and manuscripts.


MS. Mus. Sch. d. 248

Former shelfmark:

Music School B. 4. 8 (quarto A. 25-30)

Collection ID (for staff)

CMD ID 17350


Parts for eleven of the twelve sonatas by Johann Rosenmüller, published as 12 Sonate à 2, 3, 4 e 5 stromenti da arco e altri & Basso cont. (1682), [date].

Biographical / Historical

Johann Rosenmüller (c 1619-1684) was a composer, trombonist, organist and teacher. See Grove Music Online for further details.

Other Finding Aids

Robert Hake, [Catalogue of the Music School Collection], c 1850-1855. No. CXII.

Falconer Madan, et al., A summary catalogue of western manuscripts in the Bodleian Library at Oxford which have not hitherto been catalogued in the Quarto series (7 vols. in 8 [vol. II in 2 parts], Oxford, 1895-1953; reprinted, with corrections in vols. I and VII, Munich, 1980), vol. V, no. 26539.

Custodial History

This item is part of the Music School collection of printed and manuscript music, which was originally bequeathed to the University of Oxford by William Heather (c 1563-1627), and gradually added to until the end of the 18th century.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

The collection was transferred to the Bodleian in 1885.

Physical Facet

Formerly kept as unstitched quires, basso continuo parts outside; now stitched, not in perfect order. Watermark, Fleur de Lys, countermark CDG, resembling Heawood 1796.


Large upright quarto

Sonatas by Johann Rosenmüller
EAD version 2019
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom