Skip to main content

Gioachino Rossini: 'Guillaume Tell', opera in four acts


  • How to
‘Guillaume Tell’, opera in four acts by Gioachino Rossini. Libretto by Etienne de Jouy, Hippolyte Bis and others after Schiller. Full score with French words, in the hand of 3 French copyists, c 1829. Not copied from the printed edition (Paris, Troupenas, 1829). Pencil markings throughout are apparently in the hand of Sir Henry Bishop, who was responsible for the two early London Drury Lane productions, the radically altered one in 1830 under the title 'Hofer, the Tell of the Tyrol' in a translation by J. R. Planché, and one in 1838 under the original title, with a translation by Alfred Bunn. Only a few phrases of English translation have been pencilled in, but the occasional remark 'stet 1838' over cut bars points to a connection with the latter production, and it seemingly played some part in the earlier one. At MS. Mus. c. 562, fols. 79-80 are two loosely inserted leaves of score with English words.


  • c 1829, 1838


1.2 linear metres (8 physical shelfmarks)

Language of Materials

  • French
  • English

Preferred Citation

Oxford, Bodleian Libraries [followed by shelfmark, e.g. MS. c. 558, fols. 1-2].
Please see our help page for further guidance on citing archives and manuscripts.

Full range of shelfmarks:

MSS. Mus. c. 558-565

Collection ID (for staff)

CMD ID 16057


Full score of 'Guillaume Tell', opera by Gioachino Rossini, c 1829, 1838.

Biographical / Historical

Gioachino Rossini (1792-1868) was a composer. See Grove Music Online for further details.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Transferred from the Faculty of Music Library, 1995.

Physical Facet

Eight volumes bound in half calf.


'Guillaume Tell', opera by Gioachino Rossini
EAD version 2019
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom