Skip to main content

4 'Italian Soneta's for 3: two Trebles and a Base with a Through Base. 4 Bookes'

 Single Item
MS. Mus. Sch. c. 79

  • Request

4 instrumental parts bound in one volume: i, Violino 1 (copied by Edward Lowe); ii, Violino 2 (in copyist's hand); iii, [bass] (in copyist's hand, corrected by Lowe); iv, basso continuo (probably copied by Lowe).

  1. Sonata for 2 trebles and 'violon', G major. i, fol. 2; ii, fols. 10-10v; iii, fols. 16-16v; iv, fols. 24v-25.
  2. Sonata for 2 trebles and 'violon o fagott', G minor. i, fols. 3-4v; ii, fols. 10v, 13; iii, fols. 17-18; iv, fols. 25v-6.
  3. Sonata for 2 trebles and viola da gamba, A minor. i, fols. 4v-5v; ii, fols. 11-11v; iii, fols. 18-19; iv, fols. 26v-27.
  4. Sonata for 2 trebles and viola da gamba, A minor. i, fols. 5v-6v; ii, fols. 11v-12; iii, fols. 19-20; iv, fols. 27-28.


  • Creation: [1670-1682]


1 box

Language of Materials

  • English

Preferred Citation

Oxford, Bodleian Libraries [followed by shelfmark and folio or page reference, e.g. MS. Mus. Sch. c. 79, fols. 1-2].

Please see our help page for further guidance on citing archives and manuscripts.


MS. Mus. Sch. c. 79

Former reference:

Formerly shelfmarked Goodson's [?] no. 45 (fol. 23), Music School A. 5. 29-32, and later MS. Mus. Sch. c. 25.

Collection ID (for staff)

CMD ID 17331


4 anonymous sonatas for three string instruments and basso continuo, probably all by Italian composers, [1670-1682].

Biographical / Historical

Edward Lowe (c 1610-1682) was a composer, music copyist, organist and writer on music. See Grove Music Online for further details.

Other Finding Aids

Robert Hake, [Catalogue of the Music School Collection], c 1850-1855. No. XLVIII.

Falconer Madan, et al., A summary catalogue of western manuscripts in the Bodleian Library at Oxford which have not hitherto been catalogued in the Quarto series (7 vols. in 8 [vol. II in 2 parts], Oxford, 1895-1953; reprinted, with corrections in vols. I and VII, Munich, 1980), vol. V, no. 26447.

Not on the 1682 list.

Custodial History

This item is a part of the Music School collection of printed and manuscript music, which was originally bequeathed to the University of Oxford by William Heather (c 1563-1627), and gradually added to until the end of the 18th century.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

The collection was transferred to the Bodleian in 1885.

Physical Facet

4 part-books now bound in one volume, iii + 33 leaves. Part i, 2 bifolia folded inside a third; ii, incorrectly quired as 4, formerly consecutive bifolia; iii, quire of 6, with correction pasted to fol. 19; iv, quire of 6. Each within white paper covers. Watermark: coat of arms, countermark, CDC, or CDG, resembling Heawood 354, and Fools Cap, CDC or CDG. Ruling: 10 5-lined staves, red marginal ruling at both edges.


Upright folio

4 'Italian Soneta's for 3: two Trebles and a Base with a Through Base. 4 Bookes'
EAD version 2019
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom