Skip to main content

Movements from consort suites by Christopher Gibbons

 Single Item
MS. Mus. Sch. c. 53

  • Request

Movements from consort suites in D minor, for two trebles and bass with organ, by Christopher Gibbons. Part-books copied by the composer whose signature appears throughout. On p. 56 are sketches of music.

The part-books are: i, first treble; ii, second treble; iii, bass; iv, organ.

  1. Alman and corant. [Cf. MS. Mus. Sch. d. 231, no. 12]. i, p. 1c; ii, p. 17; iii, p. 37; iv, p. 61.
  2. Alman and corant. [Cf. MS. Mus. Sch. d. 231, no. 13]. i, pp. 2-3; ii, pp. 18-19; iii, p. 38; iv, p. 62.
  3. Fancy. [Cf. MS. Mus. Sch. d. 231, no. 13]. i, p. 9; ii, p. 32 rev.; iii, p. 53; iv, p. 73.
  4. Alman, corant, alman, galiardo. i, pp. 10-11; ii, pp. 31-30 rev.; iii, pp. 54-55; iv, pp. 74-75.


  • Creation: [c 1660-1670]


1 box

Language of Materials

  • English

Preferred Citation

Oxford, Bodleian Libraries [followed by shelfmark and folio or page reference, e.g. MS. Mus. Sch. c. 53, fols. 1-2].

Please see our help page for further guidance on citing archives and manuscripts.


MS. Mus. Sch. c. 53

Former shelfmark:

Music School B. 6. 27-30

Collection ID (for staff)

CMD ID 17292


Christopher Gibbons: movements from consort suites in D minor, for two trebles and bass with organ, [c 1660-1670].

Biographical / Historical

Christopher Gibbons (1615-1676) was a composer and organist. See Grove Music Online for further details.

Other Finding Aids

Robert Hake, [Catalogue of the Music School Collection], c 1850-1855. No. XXXI.

Falconer Madan, et al., A summary catalogue of western manuscripts in the Bodleian Library at Oxford which have not hitherto been catalogued in the Quarto series (7 vols. in 8 [vol. II in 2 parts], Oxford, 1895-1953; reprinted, with corrections in vols. I and VII, Munich, 1980), vol. V, no. 26417.

The Viola da Gamba Society thematic index of music for viols [online]

RISM 800273144

Custodial History

This item is part of the Music School collection of printed and manuscript music, which was originally bequeathed to the University of Oxford by William Heather (c 1563-1627), and gradually added to until the end of the 18th century.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

The collection was transferred to the Bodleian in 1885.

Physical Facet

Four part-books now bound together (iii and iv were cut by binder). In each part, items 1 and 2 were copied on one quire of from 4 to 8 leaves, of which some were left blank; items 3 and 4 are on an extra bifolium. The paper is the same throughout, water-mark cardinal's hat, initials GR (as found in the North MSS., cf. MS. Mus. Sch. c. 82). Ruled with 10 staves of 5 lines, black marginal ruling at both edges. Each part has end-papers and dark paper covers. '53' inked on cover of first treble.


Small upright folio

Movements from consort suites by Christopher Gibbons
EAD version 2019
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom