Skip to main content

Collection of Latin sacred music of the 16th-18th cent., copied by Rev. Charles Hayward

 Single Item
MS. Mus. d. 293

  • Request

Latin sacred music of the 16th-18th cent., copied in score by Rev. Charles Hayward (perhaps the Suffolk clergyman, 1766/7-1807) for his wife, Francessa.

a (pp. 1-12) Tommaso Baj: Miserere. For SATTB, SSAB double choir;

b (pp. 13-14) Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina: Improperia. For SATB;

c (pp. 15-26) Gregorio Allegri: Miserere. For SSATB, SSAB double choir;

(pp. 27-31) Giovanni Battista Pergolesi: 'Ad te clamamus', aria for soprano, 2 violins and continuo, from the Salve regina in C minor [Paymer 76b];

d (pp. 32-87) Franz Joseph Haydn: Extracts from the Stabat mater [Hob. XXbis]. For SATB soli, SATB chorus and orchestra: chorus, 'Virgo virginum praeclara' (pp. 32-58); aria, 'O quam tristis' (pp. 59-67); chorus, 'Quando corpus morietur'/'Paradisi gloria' (pp. 68-87);

e (pp. 88-180) Emanuele d'Astorga: Stabat mater. For SATB soli, SATB chorus, strings and continuo.


  • Creation: c 1800


188 pages

Language of Materials

  • Latin

Preferred Citation

Oxford, Bodleian Libraries [followed by shelfmark, e.g. MS. Mus. d. 293, fols. 1-2].

Please see our help page for further guidance on citing archives and manuscripts.


MS. Mus. d. 293

Collection ID (for staff)

CMD ID 15993


Latin sacred music of the 16th-18th cent., copied in score by Rev. Charles Hayward, c 1800.

Biographical / Historical

Tommaso Baj (c 1650-1714), Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina (1525?-1594), Gregorio Allegri (1582-1652), Giovanni Battista Pergolesi (1710-1736), Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809) and Emanuele d'Astorga (1680-1757) were all composers. See Grove Music Online for further details.

Custodial History

Inscribed on p. v: 'Francessa Hayward the gift of her husband the Revd. Charles Hayward and copied for her by him'. Former shelfmark (Faculty of Music Library): M.S.L. 8.d.1 (Misc. 5).

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Transferred from the Faculty of Music Library, 1995.

Physical Facet

vi + 182 pages; 12 staves to a page. Watermarks: PORTAL & BRIDGES (preliminary leaf, p. v); lily in shield with BR beneath (music pages). Binding: half calf with marbled paper covered boards (spine renewed).


Folio (300 × 240 mm)

Latin sacred music of the 16th-18th cent.
EAD version 2019
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom