Skip to main content

Six sonatas by Benjamin Hely, for three instruments

 Single Item
MS. Mus. Sch. E. 428

  • Request

Six sonatas by Benjamin Hely, for three instruments: but the two divisions each contain only one part, so that a third division appears to be wanting. At the end of each division are added eight more short pieces of instrumental music, in two parts.


  • Creation: Written c.1700


24 Leaves

Language of Materials

  • Undetermined

Preferred Citation

Oxford, Bodleian Libraries [followed by shelfmark and folio or page reference, e.g. MS. Mus. Sch. E. 428, fols. 1-2]

Please see our help page for further guidance on citing archives and manuscripts.


MS. Mus. Sch. E. 428

Collection ID (for staff)

CMD ID 20699


Six sonatas by Benjamin Hely, for three instruments.

Biographical / Historical

Benjamin Hely (fl 1680–90) was an English composer. See the Grove Music Online for further details.

Other Finding Aids

Falconer Madan, et al., A summary catalogue of western manuscripts in the Bodleian Library at Oxford which have not hitherto been catalogued in the Quarto series (7 vols. in 8 [vol. II in 2 parts], Oxford, 1895-1953; reprinted, with corrections in vols. I and VII, Munich, 1980), vol. V, no. 26563.

Hake catalogue (c.1855) no. 134

RISM 800273136

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Acquisition details unknown.

Related Materials

Five of the sonatas occur also in SC 26444-6.

Physical Facet

On paper


7 3/8 × 9 3/4 in.

Six sonatas by Benjamin Hely, for three instruments
EAD version 2021 by Hannah Jordan
EAD version 2021
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom