Skip to main content

Orchestral compositions of Bernard Coqueret


  • How to

Autograph scores in ink and pencil, and parts (in the composer's and in a copyist's hands). Two works are dated (1936 and 1938); the rest would also appear to date from the 1930s.


  • Creation: 1936-1938, n.d.


0.75 Linear metres (5 physical shelfmarks)

Language of Materials

  • French

Preferred Citation

Oxford, Bodleian Libraries [followed by shelfmark, e.g. MS. Mus. c. 633, fols. 1-2]

Please see our help page for further guidance on citing archives and manuscripts.

Full range of shelfmarks:

MSS. Mus. c. 633-636, d. 303

Collection ID (for staff)

CMD ID 16059


Scores and parts of works for orchestra by Bernard Coqueret, 1936-1938, n.d.

Biographical / Historical

Bernard Coqueret (1921-1947) was a French composer. At only 26 years of age, he had to his name the following compositions: Suite in D, Overture for an imaginary operetta, three Sonatas, a Rhapsody, a Spanish Suite, two Suites for string orchestra, many pieces for piano, violin or cello. He died in a plane crash on 1 February 1947.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Given by Bernard Peyrotte (of Arioso, Paris), 2005.

Orchestral compositions of Bernard Co1queret
EAD version 2019 by Hannah Jordan and Margaret Czepiel
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom