Skip to main content

E.L. Segar: 11 hymn tunes

 Single Item
MS. Mus. e. 56

  • Request

E.L. Segar: 11 hymn tunes. Score in ink, apparently autograph, except for the last hymn, which is presumably in the hand of the arranger, G.H. Segar. The tunes are not given names, but identified by the hymns for which they were intended. The last was published, York: Mrs. Segar, [c 1935].

  1. (fol. 1r+v) A litany for the war. Words by V.S.S. Coles. Set to two tunes, the first by H.A. Branscombe, the second by E.L. Segar. Branscombe's tune was published (Oxford: Blackwell, 1914);
  2. (fol. 2) O what their joy and their glory must be;
  3. (fol. 3) Now the day is over;
  4. (fol. 4) Lord, while for all mankind we pray;
  5. (fol. 5) God, that madest earth and heaven;
  6. (fol. 6) Jesu, gentlest Saviour;
  7. (fol. 7) Still will we trust;
  8. (fol. 8) Jesu, my Lord, my God, my All;
  9. (fol. 9) Thine for ever;
  10. (fol. 10) Jesu, name all names above;
  11. (fol. 11) [O little town of Bethlehem] 15 E[nglish] H[ymnal], E.L. Segar, arr. G.H. Segar.


  • Creation: c 1915-1935?


24 Leaves

Language of Materials

  • English

Preferred Citation

Oxford, Bodleian Libraries [followed by shelfmark, e.g. MS. Mus. e. 56, fols. 1-2].

Please see our help page for further guidance on citing archives and manuscripts.


MS. Mus. e. 56

Collection ID (for staff)

CMD ID 16004


11 hymn tunes by E.L. Segar. Score in ink, apparently autograph, c 1915-1935?

Biographical / Historical

Bibliographical details unknown.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Given, 1997.

Physical Facet

24 leaves (many blank); 6 staves to a page.


Oblong octavo (150 × 235 mm)

Hymn tunes by E.L. Segar
EAD version 2019 by Hannah Jordan and Margaret Czepiel
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom