Skip to main content

Guard-book containing copies of Newdigate Prize poems

 Single Item
MS. Top. Oxon. c. 520
Held at the Weston Library

  • Request

Guard-book containing copies of Newdigate Prize poems, 1960 onwards:

  1. (fols. 1-4) 'Words and Wings', John Leopold Fuller, 1960;
  2. (fols. 5-6) 'May-Morning', Stanley Johnson, 1962;
  3. (fols. 7-9) 'Disease', James Hamilton-Paterson, 1964;
  4. (fols. 10-12) 'Fear', Peter Jay, 1965;
  5. (fols. 13-41) 'Japan Opened', James M. Fenton, 1968;
  6. (fols. 42-57) 'Instructions to a Printer: a poem in three parts', William Radice, 1970;
  7. (fol. 58) 'The Ancestral Face', Neil Rhodes, 1972;
  8. (fols. 59-61) 'The Wife's Tale', Christopher M. Mann, 1973;
  9. (fols. 62-70) 'Death of a Poet', Alan Hollinghurst, 1974;
  10. (fols. 71-89) 'The Tides', Andrew Motion, 1975;
  11. (fols. 90-98) 'Some thoughts on Berthe Morisot's "Le Berceau", what it is and what it isn't, by Jeremy FACE', 1976;
  12. (fols. 99-103) 'The Fool', Michael King, 1977;
  13. (fols. 104-108) 'Souvenirs', Gordon Wattles, 1982;
  14. (fols. 109-116) 'Fear: The Martyrdom of Thomas Cranmer', James A. Leader, 1984;
  15. (fols. 117-118) 'Epithalamion', W. D. Morris, 1986;
  16. (fols. 121-128) 'Memoirs of Tiresias', Bruce John Gibson, 1987;
  17. (fols. 129-130) 'Palimpsest at Thebes', Michael Felix Suarez, 1987.


  • Creation: 1960-1987


130 Leaves

Language of Materials

  • English

Preferred Citation

Oxford, Bodleian Libraries [followed by shelfmark and folio or page reference, e.g. MS. Top. Oxon. c. 520, fols. 1-2].

Please see our help page for further guidance on citing archives and manuscripts.


MS. Top. Oxon. c. 520

Collection ID (for staff)

CMD ID 9071, 9399, 10208, 10468, 11222, 18209


Guard-book containing copies of Newdigate Prize poems, 1960 onwards.

Biographical / Historical

John Fuller (b.1937) is a poet and author.

Stanley Patrick Johnson (b.1940) is an author and former politician.

James Hamilton-Paterson (b.1941) is a poet and novelist.

Peter Jay (b.1945) is a classicist and the editorial director of Anvil Press.

James Martin Fenton (b.1949) is a poet, journalist and literary critic.

William Radice (b.1951) is an orientalist.

Neil Rhodes (b.1953) is a professor of English literature.

Christopher Michael Zithulele Mann (b.1948) is a poet.

Alan James Hollinghurst (b.1954) is a novelist, poet, short story writer and translator.

Sir Andrew Motion (b.1952) is a poet, novelist, and biographer.

Michael King (fl. 1972-...) is a writer.

Gordon D. Wattles (fl. 1982).

James A. Leader (b.1964) is poet, novelist and translator.

W. D. Morris (fl. 1986).

Bruce John Gibson (fl. 1987-...) is a classicist.

Michael Felix Suarez (b.1960) is a historian of the book.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Received in accordance with University statute, 1952 onwards.

Guard-book containing copies of Newdigate Prize poems
EAD version 2020 by Pauline Soum-Paris
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom