Skip to main content

Mass in F, attributed to Haydn

 Single Item
MS. Mus. c. 367

  • Request

10 late 18th-century professional copyist's parts: 6 of 2 leaves, 2 each of 3 and 1 leaf.

The work is divided as follows: Kyrie, chorus; Christe eleison, Andante in due soli, Canto et Alto; Kyrie da capo; Gloria, chorus; Credo, Sanctus, Osanna, chorus; Benedictus, tenor et bass soli; Osanna da capo; Agnus dei, 4 voices soli, ending chorus Dona nobis, chorus. The solo tenor and bass parts, the organ, 'cello and double bass parts are lacking.


  • Creation: late 18th cent.


1 volume

Language of Materials

  • Latin

Preferred Citation

Oxford, Bodleian Libraries [followed by shelfmark and folio or page reference, e.g. MS. Mus. c.367].

Please see our help page for further guidance on citing archives and manuscripts.


MS. Mus. c. 367

Collection ID (for staff)

CMD ID 11014


'Missa ex F a 4 Vocibus Conc: et Ripieni, 2 Violinis Conc. et Ripieni, 2 Cornibus, et Organo, Violoncello con Violone, Del Sig[no]re Haydn'. Not an authenticated work of either Joseph or Michael Haydn. Includes postcard from H. C. Robbins Landon to Margaret Crum: "The Hopkinsons Mass by Haydn is not by Michael. I should catalogue it simply as Haydn, Joseph (attributed to), and leave it at that".

Biographical / Historical

Biographical details unknown.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Bought, 1967.

Physical Facet

Parts on folio sheets, ruled with 14 staves on each side and contained in a folder of the same paper, not ruled (now bound together). Watermark in G. Eineder, Ancient paper-mills of the former Austro-Hungarian Empire, M. C. P. viii, 1960, no. 318, i. e. made by J. A. Unold, Wolfeg (Altdorf-Karbach), 1740-1785.

Vocal and instrumental parts for a Mass in F attributed to Haydn, mid- to late 18th cent.
EAD version 2019 by Hannah Jordan and Margaret Czepiel
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom