Skip to main content
Bodleian Archives & Manuscripts will be unavailable for several hours on the morning of Tuesday 9th March 2021 for system maintenance.

2 Cantatas from a set of 12, by G. F. Handel

 Single Item
MS. Mus. b.15, fols. 42-51

  • How to
Two cantatas by G. F. Handel, later published in the English edition of the German Handel Society (Leipzig: Breitkopf & Härtel, 1887) as no. XI version A (vol L, pp. 76-80, written one tone higher), and no. XII (vol. LI, pp. 32-42).
  1. (fols. 43-45) 'Cantata XI'. ('E partirai, mia vita?'), for soprano and basso continuo [HWV 111a]
  2. (fols. 46-50) 'Lucretia. Cantata XII.' ('O numi eterni') [HWV 145]


  • early 18th cent.


10 Leaves

Preferred Citation

Oxford, Bodleian Libraries [followed by shelfmark and folio or page reference, e.g. MS. Mus. b.15, fols. 42-51].
Please see our help page for further guidance on citing archives and manuscripts.


MS. Mus. b.15, fols. 42-51

Collection ID (for staff)

CMD ID 8604


2 cantatas, by G. F. Handel, early 18th cent.

Biographical / Historical

George Friderick Handel (1685-1759) was a composer. See Grove Music Online for further details.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Bequeathed by Thomas William Bourne, 1948.
2 Cantatas from a set of 12, by G. F. Handel
EAD version 2019
Language of description

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom