Skip to main content

Diaries of H.M. Wallis

 Collection

  • How to
    request
Comprises travel diaries of H.M. Wallis.

Dates

  • 1874-1924

Extent

0.37 Linear metres (2 physical shelfmarks)

Language of Materials

English

Preferred Citation

Oxford, Bodleian Libraries [followed by shelfmark and folio or page reference, e.g. MS. 15516/1, fols. 1-2].
Please see our help page for further guidance on citing archives and manuscripts.

Full range of shelfmarks:

MSS. 15516/1-2

Collection ID (for staff)

CMD ID 15516

Overview

Diaries of Henry Marriage Wallis (1854-1941), businessman, zoologist and author

Biographical / Historical

Henry Marriage Wallis was born in Ipswich in 1854 and was educated at Bootham School, York. He moved to Reading as a young man where he worked as a corn and seed merchant until his retirement in 1909. He spent many holidays egg collecting and observing birds with friends. In the 1870s and 1880s he visited Scotland and Ireland, Norway, and the Central Pyrenees in the 1890s and later Morocco, Algeria, the Alps, and the Balkans. His ornithological observations were published in a number of notes and short papers. He also wrote several novels under the nom-de-plume of Ashton Hilliers. Wallis was Honorary Curator of Zoology at Reading Museum for 50 years in the latter half of his life, where he played a major part in developing the natural history collections, with a particular interest in local bird species. He was a member of the Ornithologists' Union and regularly attended meetings for many years.

Arrangement

Material arranged as received from the Alexander Library of Ornithology.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Transferred from the Alexander Library of Ornithology, 2018.
Title
Catalogue of the diaries of H.M. Wallis
Status
Completed
Author
Finding aid prepared by EAD version by Francesca Alves
Date
2019
Language of description
English

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Contact:
Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom