Skip to main content

Commonwealth Policy Study Group, Apr 1965-Sep 1967

MS. Heath E/3/2/30
Held in our offsite storage facility

  • Request

The group was set up in June 1965, 'to consider the probable development of the Commonwealth over the next ten to twenty years, its functions, relationship to other international groupings, and propose with particular reference to the role in it of the United Kingdom and the implications for UK policy in economics, defence and foreign affairs including policy towards remaining colonial territories.' Members included Earl of Selkirk, William Gorell Barnes, Denys Buckle, Duncan Cumming, Bryant Godman Irvine, Neil Marten, W.W. Russell, John Tilney, John Udal, Joan Vickers, Patrick Wall, Maurice Zinkin, Maurice Chandler and George Nicholson.

Papers include:

  1. Folder 1: group reports and various drafts, minutes, correspondence between members, and associated papers, Apr 1965-Feb 1966
  2. Folder 2: minutes, correspondence between Heath, Private Office and others, reports and Conservative Research Department memoranda, Feb 1966-Sep 1967


  • Creation: Apr 1965-Sep 1967


1 box (2 folders)

Language of Materials

  • English


MS. Heath E/3/2/30