Skip to main content

Power Policy Group; Nationalised Industries Policy Group, Jul 1966-Dec 1969

MS. Heath E/3/2/29
Held in our offsite storage facility

  • Request

The Power Policy Group first met 4 November 1966, 'to consider the policies and prospects of the fuel and power industries in Great Britain, with special reference to the role of the energy producers in promoting a dynamic low-cost economy; having particular regard to the industries' pricing policies for their products, and the implications of the discovery of natural gas in the North Sea.' Members included Margaret Thatcher, John Eden, Patrick Jenkin, Michael Alison, John Peyton, C.G. Lancaster, Lord Nugent and Crispin Hasler.

The Nationalised Industries Policy Group first met 13 June 1967, 'to consider future policy regarding the existing nationalised industries, the scope for denationalisation and the conditions required for the proper management of the industries remaining nationalised in a competitive economy.' Members included Nicholas Ridley, Antony Newton, John Peyton, Charles Fletcher-Cooke, John Eden, Michael Alison, Lord Nugent, Stephen Hastings, Lord Aldington, Christopher Tugendhat, Jack Wiseman, I.G. Hallam and Anthony Burney.


  1. Folder 1: Power Policy Group - minutes, correspondence, papers including reports and newspaper cuttings, Jul 1966-Dec 1969
  2. Folder 2: Nationalised Industries Policy Group - minutes, draft reports, report and correspondence, May 1967-Jul 1968


  • Creation: Jul 1966-Dec 1969


1 box (2 folders)

Language of Materials

  • English


MS. Heath E/3/2/29