Skip to main content

Policy Group on Law Reform; National Insurance Scheme Policy Group and Health Policy Group, Feb 1965-Mar 1969

MS. Heath E/3/2/20
Held in our offsite storage facility

  • Request

The Law Reform Policy Group first met 15 June 1965, 'to consider what changes in the existing laws regarding abortion, cruelty to children, personal privacy, breach of promise [to marry] and adoption can be recommended as suitable for future Conservative policy.' Members included John Hobson, John Foster, Ian Percival, Joan Quennell, David Renton, Lord Colville, David Jeffcock, John McDonnell and D.C.M.Mather.

The National Insurance Scheme Policy Group met, 'to consider the future of the National Insurance Scheme.' Members included Keith Joseph, Margaret Thatcher, Henry Brooke, T.E. Chester, Paul Dean, J.H. Hawkins, Geoffrey Howe, P.T. Menzies, Tim Raison, Lord Balniel, Arthur Tilley, John E. Wall, J. Wiseman, Richard Wood, Charles E. Bellairs and D.C.M. Mather.

The Health Policy Group first met 1 June 1965, 'to consider the National Health Service in all its aspects and to make recommendations as to the lines of its future development.' It was initially a sub-group of the Social Services Policy Group. Members included Mervyn Pike, Lord Balniel, Keith Joseph, Margaret Thatcher, Paul Dean, Marcus Worsley, Robin Turton, B. Harvie Anderson, Maurice Macmillan, Lord Windlesham, Charles Bellairs, Geoffrey Howe, John Cambrook, Hugh Freeman, Barbara Shenfield, A.F. Wood and Charles Longbottom.


  1. Folder 1: Law Reform Policy Group - minutes, correspondence and papers, Feb 1965-Oct 1967
  2. Folder 2: National Insurance Scheme Policy Group - minutes, correspondence and papers, including interim report, Feb-Dec 1965
  3. Folder 3: Health Policy Group - minutes, correspondence and papers, Jan 1966-Mar 1969


  • Creation: Feb 1965-Mar 1969


1 box (3 folders)

Language of Materials

  • English


MS. Heath E/3/2/20