Skip to main content

Eastern Union of Conservative Agents, 1890-2010


  • How to


  • Creation: 1890-2010

Language of Materials

  • English

Full range of shelfmarks:

CCO 509/2/5/1-7

Biographical / Historical

The Eastern Union of Conservative Agents (which became the Eastern Branch of the National Society of Conservative and Unionist Agents in 1939) was founded 23 Apr 1890, with one agent appointed for each county: Lincolnshire, Cambridgeshire, Norfolk, Suffolk and Huntingdonshire. Along with the Yorkshire, Midland and Western Areas, it became affiliated with the National Society of Conservative and Unionist Agents from its formation in 1891. In 1931, in response to a report by the Council of the National Society, the Eastern Union approved full time paid women Organisers. By the end of 1930s the Area included Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire, and 1963 saw the transfer of Essex to the Eastern Area. Boundary changes have meant that the Area has consisted of Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Essex, Hertfordshire, Norfolk and Suffolk since 1975.

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom