Skip to main content

Chairman's Office correspondence with Geoffrey Tucker, Director of Publicity, May 1968-May 1970

CCO 20/25/8

Correspondents include:-

  1. Altman, Dr. V., Chairman, Dewsbury Conservative Constituency Association
  2. Amery, Julian MP for Brighton Pavilion
  3. Barber, Tony, Party Chairman
  4. Berkeley, Humphry, Chairman, United Nations Association of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  5. Cope, John, Personal Assistant to Party Chairman
  6. Heath, Edward, Leader of the Opposition
  7. Lambton, Antony, Viscount Lambton, MP for Berwick-upon-Tweed
  8. Lindsey, John, Head of Broadcasting Section, Publicity Department
  9. O'Brien, Gerald, Deputy Director of Publicity
  10. Pearce, Edward A, Joint Managing Director, Davidson, Pearce, Berry & Tuck Ltd
  11. Robinson, CW, Chairman, York Conservative Association
  12. Tucker, Geoffrey, Director of Publicity

Subjects include:-

  1. Meeting between Geoffrey Tucker and Ronan O'Rahilly, former proprietor of Radio Caroline
  2. Poster campaign in target seats
  3. Poster hoarding sites in critical seats
  4. Content of Weekly News
  5. Recruitment for the United Nations Association
  6. Weekend staffing of Publicity Department at Conservative Central Office
  7. Draft rebuttal statement concerning the balance of payments deficit
  8. Party political broadcasts
  9. Structure of the Publicity Department
  10. Publicity strategy


Minutes and/or agenda of meetings of the Television Broadcasting Committee (otherwise referred to as the 'Broadcasting Group' or 'The Television Group' – which supervised the production of television and radio broadcasts leading up to and during the 1970 General Election campaign):-

  1. 08/01/1969
  2. 17/07/1969
  3. 24/07/1969
  4. 19/03/1970

Paper, 'Recommendations to Conservative Central Office for increasing the effectiveness of current outdoor advertising campaign', Frank Monkman, Advertising Agency Poster Bureau, ND [c.Oct 1969]

Press release issued jointly by Harold Wilson, Edward Heath and Jeremy Thorpe as Joint Honorary Presidents of the United Nations Association, 23/10/1968


  • Creation: May 1968-May 1970


1 file

Language of Materials

  • English

Conditions Governing Access



CCO 20/25/8

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom