Skip to main content

Correspondence and papers concerning the proposed European Monetary System (EMS), July-Nov 1978

CCO 20/32/13

Correspondents include:-

  1. Howe, Sir Geoffrey, Shadow Chancellor of the Exchequer (1975-1979)
  2. Lawson, Nigel MP for Blaby (1974-1992)
  3. May, Simon
  4. Ridley, Adam, Conservative Research Department
  5. Thorneycroft, Lord, Party Chairman (1975-1981)


  1. Report, 'More Observations on the European Monetary System', Adam Ridley, 18/07/1978
  2. Report, 'Britain and the Proposed European Monetary System', 05/10/1978
  3. Interim Report of the Confederation of British Industry Working Party on EEC Currency Stabilisation Scheme, 09/10/1978
  4. Minutes of a meeting concerning the European Monetary System, attended by Lord Thorneycroft Party Chairman, and Sir Jeremy Morse, Chairman of Lloyds Bank (amongst others), 23/10/1978
  5. Minutes of a meeting on 'The European Monetary System' held at the House of Commons, attended by Sir Geoffrey Howe, Lord Soames, Francis Pym, John Nott, Nigel Lawson, 25/10/1978
  6. Extract from a speech by Sir Jeremy Morse, Chairman of Lloyds Bank, on the proposed European Monetary System, 31/10/1978


  • Creation: July-Nov 1978


1 file

Language of Materials

  • English

Conditions Governing Access



CCO 20/32/13

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom