Skip to main content

Correspondence and papers concerning Britain's application to join the Common Market, mainly between the Party Chairman and local Conservative associations and constituency MPs, May-Aug 1971

CCO 20/32/6

Correspondents include:-

  1. Abingdon Division Conservative Association
  2. Beamish, Col. Sir Tufton, MP, Chairman of the Conservative Group for Europe
  3. Bridgewater Division Conservative Association
  4. City of Coventry Conservative Association
  5. Clitheroe Division Conservative Association
  6. Corfield, Frederick, MP for South Gloucestershire (1955-1974)
  7. Elles, Diana, Chairman, European Union of Women, British Section
  8. Fraser, Sir Michael, Deputy Party Chairman (1964-1975)
  9. Goodhart, Philip, MP for Beckenham (1957-1992)
  10. Gosport & Fareham Conservative Association
  11. Hall Green Conservative Association
  12. Hartlepool Conservative Association
  13. High Peak Conservative Association
  14. Louth Conservative Association
  15. Marten, Neil, MP for Banbury (1959-1983)
  16. McNair-Wilson, Michael, MP for Walthamstow East (1969-1974)
  17. Neave, Airey, MP for Abingdon (1953-1979)
  18. Nicholls, Sir Harmar, MP for Peterborough (1950-1964)
  19. North Dorset Conservative Association
  20. Oxfordshire Conservative Association, Banbury Division
  21. Pym, Francis, MP, Chief Whip (1970-1973)
  22. Ridsdale, Julian, MP for Harwich (1954-1992)
  23. Ripon, Geoffrey, Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster (1970-1972) [and responsible for negotiating the UK's entry into the EEC]
  24. Smith, Dudley, MP for Warwickshire & Leamington (1968-1997)
  25. South East Essex Conservative Association
  26. Stewart-Smith, Geoffrey, MP for Belper (1970-1974)
  27. The Methodist Church, Leeds Mission
  28. The Wrekin Conservative Association
  29. Walker-Smith, Sir Derek, MP for East Hertfordshire (1955-1983), and Chairman of the 'Conservative 1970s Group' opposed to the UK's entry into the Common Market
  30. Warwick, Leamington & Kennilworth Conservative Association
  31. Wembley North Conservative Association, Kenton West Branch
  32. Weston-super-Mare Conservative Association
  33. Wimbledon Conservative Association
  34. Wingfield Digby,Simon, MP for West Dorset (1941-1974)


  1. Copy of Monthly Bulletin for Conservative Trade Unionists, July-August 1971


  • Creation: May-Aug 1971


1 file

Language of Materials

  • English

Conditions Governing Access



CCO 20/32/6

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom