Skip to main content

Working Party on Organisation: correspondence and papers, Oct 1975-Apr 1976

CCO 20/3/22


  1. Paper, 'The role of women in the Party', Ann Springman, 26/11/1975
  2. Paper, 'Proposals for Modifications to the Party Organisation following consultations on the Eyre Committee Report' [Author not given], 18/02/1976, with later version of same, 04/04/1976

Minutes of the Working Party on Organisation:-

  1. 21/10/1975
  2. 27/10/1975
  3. 11/11/1975
  4. 24/11/1975


  • Creation: Oct 1975-Apr 1976


1 file

Language of Materials

  • English

Conditions Governing Access



CCO 20/3/22

Biographical / Historical

[The Working Party on Organisation was chaired by Reg Eyre MP and was established by Party Chairman William Whitelaw at the beginning of 1975 [?] but given added impetus by his successor as Party Chairman, Lord Thorneycroft. On 3rd October, 1975 Thorneycroft wrote to Eyre as follows: 'As you know there have been numerous calls to me from many quarters that a review should be made of the Party's Organisation and that we should step up our activities in certain fields that have been relatively neglected or where we have been comparatively unsuccessful.'

Its terms of reference were more broad, and were simply:- 'to review the Organisation of the Party in the country and to report' by Christmas 1975.

Membership of the Working Party consisted of:-

  1. Reg Eyre MP [Chairman]
  2. John Bowis, Head of the Trade Union Department
  3. Howard Davies, Area Agent, Western Area
  4. Tony Durant MP, Secretary, New Ideas Group
  5. Ian Grist MP, representing the interests of Wales
  6. John Grugeon, Leader of the Conservative Group, Kent County Council
  7. Mark Hapgood, National Chairman, FCS
  8. Ken Harris, Chairman, National Society of Agents
  9. Alan Hazelhurst, CPC North West Area Chairman
  10. David Hunt, Vice-chairman, National Union
  11. Sir Charles Johnston, North West Area Chairman
  12. Tony Kerpel, National Chairman, Young Conservatives
  13. Alastair McAlpine, Party Treasurer
  14. Charles Morrison MP, Chairman, National Advisory Committee on Local Government
  15. Andrew Rowe, Director of Youth and Community Affairs Dept
  16. Anne Springman, Chairman, Women's National Advisory Committee
  17. Sir John Taylor, Chairman, National Union Executive Committee
  18. Alec Todd, Director of Publicity
  19. Joan Varley, Chief Woman Executive/Critical Seats
  20. Sir Richard Webster, Director of Organisation
  21. Neil Westbrook, Chairman, Manchester City Conservative Association

In its recommendations it attempted to improve the Party's appeal in urban areas, particularly amongst blue collar workers. It also recommended reducing the number of Areas from 11 to 16, with a better deployment of Area officers and agents.]

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom