Skip to main content

Strategy Group, 1986-1987


  • How to

This was established by Margaret Thatcher in the Summer of 1986 to 'review policies and strategy and to initiate work for the election manifesto and our third term of office' in conjunction with the Policy Unit based at 10 Downing Street. The core membership of the Group included:-

  1. Margaret Thatcher
  2. Lord Whitelaw, Deputy Prime Minister
  3. Norman Tebbit, Party Chairman
  4. Sir Geoffrey Howe, Foreign Secretary
  5. Nigel Lawson, Chancellor of the Exchequer
  6. Douglas Hurd, Home Secretary
  7. John Wakeham, Chief Whip

Additional Ministers attended the Group by invitation when their particular policy area was under discussion.

As part of its work, the Group set up 11 policy groups, each under the chairmanship of a Cabinet Minister with secretariat support provided by the Conservative Research Department. Robin Harris, Director of CRD, and Stephen Sherbourne, Political Adviser at No. 10, were responsible for overall organisation and servicing of the groups. It was intended that each policy group would report by December 1986:-

  1. Managing the Economy. Chairman: Nigel Lawson
  2. Working Britain. Chairman: Lord Young
  3. Home Office and Inner Cities. Chairman: Douglas Hurd
  4. National Health Service. Chairman: Norman Fowler
  5. Education and Training. Chairman: Kenneth Baker. Referenced in the letter books of Andrew Turner, CRD Desk Office for Education, in 1986, who acted as its secretary [Shelfmark: CRD 4/5/81].
  6. Housing and Planning. Chairman: Nicholas Ridley
  7. Environment and Energy. Chairman: Peter Walker
  8. Rural Britain. Chairman: Michael Jopling
  9. Family and Society. Chairman: Nicholas Edwards
  10. Young People. Chairman: John Moore
  11. Foreign Affairs, Europe and Defence. Joint Chairmen: Sir Geoffrey Howe and George Younger


  • Creation: 1986-1987

Language of Materials

  • English

Full range of shelfmarks:

CCO 20/7/29-30

Related Materials

[For minutes and papers of the Strategy Group, Jun 1986-Jun 1987, see Shelfmark: CRD/4/30/7/6-9 in Series: General Elections, 1974-1987. Papers for the 1986 policy groups can also be found in CRD/4, arranged by subject matter.]

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom