Skip to main content

Chamber music 1, [c 1868-1884?], n.d.

MS. Mus. b. 21

  • Request
a (fols. 1-10) String quartet no. 2 in C minor [ED 41]. Complete fair copy, 1868. Unpublished, [c 1868?];

b (fols. 11-22) Trio for piano, violin and cello in E minor [ED 74]. Fair copy of first and last movements. Published by Breitkopf & Härtel (1879), [c 1878?];

c (fols. 23-65) Piano quartet in A flat [ED 77]. Fair copy, lacking third movement, [c 1879?];

d (fols. 66-67) Quartet no. 3 in G major [ED 78]. Draft of opening bars. Posthumously published: Fentone (1995), [c 1878-1880?];

e (fols. 68-115) String Quintet in E flat [ED 92]. Fair copy and copy used by the printers, [c 1884?];

f (fols. 116-161) Piano trio in B minor [ED 93]. Fair copy of second, third and fourth movements; copy made by an amanuensis, used by printers, of third and fourth movements, [c 1884?].

For String quartet [no. 1] in G minor [ED 30], see MS. Mus. c. 328, fols. 1-32.


  • [c 1868-1884?], n.d.


161 Leaves

Language of Materials

  • English


MS. Mus. b. 21

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom