Skip to main content

Women's Organisations, 1945-1949

CCO 3/1/12-25

  • Request
  1. CCO 3/1/12 - British Housewives League, 1947-1949;
  2. CC0 3/1/13 - Electrical Association for Women, 1949;
  3. CCO 3/1/14 - Equal Pay Campaign for Women, 1947-1949;
  4. CCO 3/1/15 - Federation of Business and Professional Women, 1948;
  5. CCO 3/1/16 - Federation of University Women, c. 1948;
  6. CCO 3/1/17 - Liaison Committee of Women's International Organisations, c. 1945-1946;
  7. CCO 3/1/18 - Married Women's Association, 1947-1949;
  8. CCO 3/1/19 - National Council of Women, 1947-1949;
  9. CCO 3/1/20 - National Institute of Houseworkers, 1948-1949;
  10. CCO 3/1/21 - National Women's Citizens Association, 1948-1949;
  11. CCO 3/1/22 - Scottish Housewives' Association, 1949;
  12. CCO 3/1/23 - Standing Conference of Women's Organisations, 1946-1948;
  13. CCO 3/1/25 - Women's Advisory Housing Council, 1946-1947.
Also comprises file CCO 3/1/24 - Women for Westminster, Apr 1945-Feb 1949. Includes correspondence and papers, mainly concerning:-
  1. Requests for Conservative Party literature and for Conservative Party speakers to address Women for Westminster meetings.
  2. The conference 'A New World for Wives' jointly hosted by Women for Westminster and the Married Women's Association on 18th May, 1946, including the views of Conservative Central Office with regard to its agenda, and note of its proceedings by the Conservative Party delegates nominated to attend.
  3. Women for Westminster 'Conference for Action', Caxton Hall, Westminster, 21st October 1946, including report on its proceedings.
Correspondents include:-
  1. Adamson, E.S., Wing Commander, Speakers Department, Conservative Central Office.
  2. Allen, Mrs.
  3. Barlex, Molly, General Secretary, Women for Westminster.
  4. Billington-Greig, Teresa, Honorary Director, Women for Westminster.
  5. Clarke, David, Director, Conservative Research Department.
  6. Clifton-Brown, Robin, Central Women's Advisory Committee conference delegate.
  7. Cohen, Mr Percy, Conservative Central Office.
  8. Davidson, Frances Joan, Viscountess Davidson.
  9. Dodd, Miss J, Head of Speakers' Department, Conservative Central Office.
  10. Fraser, Miss Anne, Regional Organiser, Women for Westminster.
  11. Grater, Miss Virginia R., Assistant Secretary, Totteridge Branch, Women for Westminster.
  12. Law, Richard, MP for Kensington South.
  13. Maxse, Miss Marjorie, Conservative Party Vice-Chairman.
  14. Morrison, Sybil, National Organiser, Women for Westminster.
  15. Murray, Mrs, Central Women's Advisory Committee conference delegate.
  16. Runge, Norah, Central Women's Advisory Committee conference delegate.
  17. St John, Mrs Janet, Secretary, Kensington Branch, Women for Westminster.
  18. Spencer, Miss Dorothy, Women's Department, Conservative Central Office.
  19. Thornton, Mrs Margery, Central Women's Advisory Committee conference delegate.
  20. Ward, Miss K, Hon. Secretary, Women for Westminster.
  1. Women for Westminster News Letter No. 4 (May 1946)
  2. Women for Westminster Summer Programme 1947.


  • 1945-1949


1 box (14 folders)

Language of Materials

  • English


CCO 3/1/12-25

Biographical / Historical

Women for Westminster (1943-1949) was established in 1943. In 1940 Edith Summerskill raised the issue of women in Parliament within the Six Point Group. This produced an initiative with the aim of returning 100 women to parliament. However, the War and other concerns meant that it was not until Mrs Rebecca Sieff and Teresa Billington-Greig established a committee within the Women's Publicity Planning Association (WPPA) to deal with the issue in Jan 1942 that attention was paid to this area by a single issue group. The committee eventually became an independent organisation the following year with the name of Women for Westminster. It was a non-party organisation with a number of local branches which aimed to encourage women in individual constituency parties to nominate a woman candidate, thus avoiding the hostility aroused when outside women's organisations attempted to apply pressure. Summerskill, Tate, Cazalet-Keir and Corbett Ashby were all members but the group had limited success: in 1945, out of 87 women candidates, only 12 were returned and they already held seats. Despite having 46 branches, financial problems beset the organisation, which received only £1,000 in 1946. By the end of the decade, they were under pressure to amalgamate with other organisations. They refused an approach from the Six Point Group but accepted a merger with the National Women's Citizenship Association in 1949. (See file CCO 3/1/24).

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom