Skip to main content

Two commercial music manuscript books, containing fair copies of various works, 1931, n.d.

MS. Mus. c. 511

  • Request
The content is split over 2 volumes, MS. Mus. c. 511/1 and MS. Mus. c. 511/2.

a (fols. 2-20v) 'Ten organ preludes on original hymn tunes'. [See MS. Mus. b. 115, fols. 55-64, for further details];

b (fol. 20v) 'Term with its rush has come once more'. 'Round for the Gunfield Choir and its choirmaster. Poem by M.D.'. Dated at end Sept. 3 1931. [See also MSS. Mus. b. 115, fol. 79 and c. 512, fol. 20];

c (fol. 20v) Andante in C minor for piano intended for three performers (marked C.S.D[eneke], M.D., E.W.). Dated at end August 21 1931. [See also MS. Mus. c. 512, fol. 19v];

d (fols. 21v-23v) 'The earth is the Lord's'. Motet for SSA unaccompanied. Words, Psalm 24, vv. 1-5. Published, London: Novello, 1933. [See also MSS. Mus. c. 418, fols. 21-24v and c. 513, fols. 24-25v];

e (fol. 24) D.F. Tovey: 'Agram'. Hymn tune set to 'He that is down needs fear no fall'. Copy by Ernest Walker.


  • 1931, n.d.


27 Leaves

Language of Materials

  • English


MS. Mus. c. 511

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom