Skip to main content

Church notes by Ralph Sheldon, Written 1658-1674 by Ralph Sheldon

MS. Wood C. 11
Held at the Weston Library

  • Request

Church notes by Ralph Sheldon, similar to MS. Wood C. 10, concerning:

  1. Cornwall (St. Columb)
  2. Essex (West Thorndon, Writtle, Orset, Weal, Hutton, Ingrave, Okendon, Little Warby)
  3. Devon (Exeter)
  4. Gloucester (Egbrighton, Cirencester, Fairford, Norledge, Tewkesbury, Gloucester)
  5. Kent (Faversham)
  6. Leicester (Loughborough)
  7. Northamptonshire (Deene)
  8. Oxfordshire (University, Queen's, and New college; Great Rollright, Ewelme, Broughton, Mapledurham, Lewknor, Heythrop, Shiplake, Nuffield, Checkendon)
  9. Sussex (Furley)
  10. Warwickshire (Long Compton)

Fols. 43v-4v and 76 are by Anthony à Wood. There is an index locorum by Sheldon at fol. 89.

Labelled '89'


  • Creation: Written 1658-1674 by Ralph Sheldon


92 Leaves

Language of Materials

  • Multiple languages
  • Latin
  • English


MS. Wood C. 11

Other Finding Aids

Falconer Madan, et al., A summary catalogue of western manuscripts in the Bodleian Library at Oxford which have not hitherto been catalogued in the Quarto series (7 vols. in 8 [vol. II in 2 parts], Oxford, 1895-1953; reprinted, with corrections in vols. I and VII, Munich, 1980), vol. II, no. 8550

Physical Facet

On paper


7 1/2 × 5 1/2 in.

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom