Skip to main content

Motets, with mass titles, written in the 17th and 18th cent.

MS. Mus. e. 13

  • Request

Made up of five MSS, comprising:

  1. (fol. 2) Seven motets for church festivals, the first imperfect, the rest beginning 'Lapidabant Stephanum', 'Valde honorandus', 'Magnum hereditatis', 'Tribus miraculis', 'Salvator mundi', 'Gaudent in cælis', 17th cent.
  2. (fol. 5) 'Dixit Dominus, (two), 'Kyrie eleison' (two), 'Regina angelorum', five motets
  3. (fol. 17) Five motets ('O Jesu Christe', 'Semper honorabile', 'Propter hoc relinquet', 'Christus resurgens', 'Oravit Anna'), early 18th cent.
  4. (fol. 25) A Mass (Kyrie eleison, Gloria in excelsis, Credo, Sanctus, Hosanna, Benedictus, Agnus Dei), 18th cent.
  5. (fol. 35) A Kyrie eleison, 18th cent.
  6. (fol. 46) 'Non nobis Domine', a motet stated to be by W. Byrde, with instrumental parts separate, 18th cent.


  • Creation: written in the 17th and 18th cent.


76 Leaves

Language of Materials

  • Latin


MS. Mus. e. 13

Other Finding Aids

Falconer Madan, et al., A summary catalogue of western manuscripts in the Bodleian Library at Oxford which have not hitherto been catalogued in the Quarto series (7 vols. in 8 [vol. II in 2 parts], Oxford, 1895-1953; reprinted, with corrections in vols. I and VII, Munich, 1980), vol. IV, no. 16815

Physical Facet

On paper


8 7/8 × 12 1/8 in.

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom