Skip to main content

Sacred music by dr. Greene ('Musica sacra'), written in the 18th cent. partly by M. Greene

MS. Mus. d. 48

  • Request


  1. I (p. 1). English services in C:--Te Deum, Jubilate, 'Holy, Holy, holy' (Sanctus) and 'Glory to God' (Gloria in excelsis), Magnificat and Nunc Dimittis. The first piece has the following note: 'Mem found in the original, Begun at Farnham Castle in May 1737 and finish'd in London in June following.'
  2. (p. 178). A Gloria in excelsis, in Latin

Also comprises, (pp. 65-189) Twenty-two anthems:

  1. Blessed is the man
  2. Bow down thine ear
  3. Have mercy on me
  4. Hear my crying
  5. Hear my prayer
  6. I call with my whole heart (autograph)
  7. I cried unto the Lord (solo bass)
  8. I cried unto the Lord (five voices)
  9. I have longed
  10. I will alway give thanks
  11. I will be glad
  12. I will magnify thee
  13. Like as the hart
  14. Lord, teach us
  15. O give thanks
  16. O God, thou art my God
  17. O Lord, our governour
  18. Ponder my words
  19. Praise the Lord
  20. Rejoice in the Lord
  21. The Lord is my strength
  22. Try me, O God (autograph)


  • Creation: written in the 18th cent. partly by M. Greene


290 pages

Language of Materials

  • Multiple languages
  • English
  • Latin


MS. Mus. d. 48

Other Finding Aids

Falconer Madan, et al., A summary catalogue of western manuscripts in the Bodleian Library at Oxford which have not hitherto been catalogued in the Quarto series (7 vols. in 8 [vol. II in 2 parts], Oxford, 1895-1953; reprinted, with corrections in vols. I and VII, Munich, 1980), vol. IV, no. 16752

Physical Facet

On paper


9 1/2 × 12 1/8 in.

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom