Skip to main content

Copies of eight anthems by William Croft, written in the second half of the 18th cent.

MS. Mus. d. 29

  • Request


  1. 'I will lift up'
  2. 'Offer the sacrifice' (meeting of the Sons of the Clergy)
  3. 'Be merciful'
  4. 'Praise the Lord'
  5. 'O praise the Lord'
  6. 'Put me not to rebuke'
  7. 'O sing unto the Lord'
  8. 'Hear my crying.'

At p. 169 is a note showing that the last anthem was written out by dr. Philip Hayes in or soon after 1785.


  • Creation: written in the second half of the 18th cent.


178 pages

Language of Materials

  • English


MS. Mus. d. 29

Other Finding Aids

Falconer Madan, et al., A summary catalogue of western manuscripts in the Bodleian Library at Oxford which have not hitherto been catalogued in the Quarto series (7 vols. in 8 [vol. II in 2 parts], Oxford, 1895-1953; reprinted, with corrections in vols. I and VII, Munich, 1980), vol. IV, no. 16734


9 5/8 × 12 1/8 in.

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom