Skip to main content
Bodleian Archives & Manuscripts will be unavailable for several hours on the morning of Tuesday 9th March 2021 for system maintenance.

Ensemble music 3, [1968?]-1978, n.d.

MS. Mus. b. 521

  • How to
  1. ASJ II/56. 'Improvisation V' for violin, flute, piano and percussion. Score in ink and 2 scores in photocopy with typewritten performing notes, [1968].This is a different work from ASJ II/53. Further information in A catalogue of the works of Robert Sherlaw Johnson, 2004.
  2. ASJ II/61 (RSJ 19). String quartet no. 2. Score in ink on tracing paper and a version of second movement in ink on paper, [Feb 1969].
  3. ASJ II/62. Improvisation (not numbered) for 6 instruments. Score, [1969].
  4. ASJ II/63. 'Improvisation VI' for 6 instruments. Graphic score (p. 1 in the composer's hand) with 2 sets of playing instructions, n.d.
  5. ASJ II/70. 'Mishra varna' for 2 pianos. Score in ink and dyeline, with drafts of some individual sections, [1971].
  6. ASJ II/74 (RSJ 28*). 'Triptych' for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, piano and percussion. Score in ink and its annotated photocopy, [1973].
  7. ASJ II/80 (RSJ 31). Quintet for clarinet, violin, viola, cello and piano. Draft in ink; score in dyeline copy (1974); parts in ink and dyeline copy.
  8. ASJ II/83 (RSJ 33). Sonata for alto flute and cello. Manuscript of movement 2, [1975]; photocopy of complete score (x 3); published score and flute part (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1978).


  • [1968?]-1978, n.d.


1 box


MS. Mus. b. 521

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom