Skip to main content
Bodleian Archives & Manuscripts will be unavailable for several hours on the morning of Tuesday 9th March 2021 for system maintenance.

William Russell: autograph scores of vocal and orchestral music, 1807-1812

MS. Mus. c. 99

  • How to

a (pp. 1-73) Funeral Anthem for F[rançois] H[ippolite] Barthélémon, 1808 [beg. 'Man that is born of a woman'].

b (pp. 75-100) Organ concerto [in G major], finished 18 Mar 1810. [First published in English keyboard concertos, 1740-1815 (Music Britannica, v. 94), ed. P. Lynan (London: Stainer & Bell, 2013)].

c (pp. 103-144) 'Duetto, harps [for] Miss Sharp' [concerto in E flat major, for two harps and orchestra], Feb 1812

d (pp. 147-149, 152-176, 181-184, 186-188 and 191-203) [Symphony, in D major]: 'Largo', 1 Mar 1810; 'Allegro'; 'Andantino Grazio(z)a', 9 Sep 1807, headed '4th act Tune'; 'Minuetto' [and trio], 6 Mar 1810; 'Allegro', 15 Sep 1807

e Miscellaneous works and drafts: 'Overture' in A major for solo violin and orchestra, 6 Jan 1808 (pp. 145-146, 151); 'Fuga' [for keyboard] (pp. 178-179); 'Minuetto' [and Trio in D major], crossed through in pencil (pp. 189-190); draft of the 'Minuet and Trio' from the Symphony, on two staves (p. 204).


  • 1807-1812


208 pages


MS. Mus. c. 99

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom