Skip to main content
Bodleian Archives & Manuscripts will be unavailable for several hours on the morning of Tuesday 9th March 2021 for system maintenance.

Ignaz Moscheles, loose sheets of music, 1823, n.d.

MS. M. Deneke Mendelssohn c. 86

  • How to
Autograph music (no. 3 also being in the hand of its composer, J. Moscheles).
  1. (fol. 1) [Op. 91, 'Ouverture ... "Jeanne d'Arc", ... de Schiller], sketches to show opening bars, orchestration, etc.; and [op. 97] 'Im Herbst vom Uhland'.
  2. (fols. 2-5v) [Op. 105] 'Deux Etudes pour le Piano'.
  3. (fols. 6v-7) Cadenza for F. Mendelssohn Bartholdy's Concerto for 2 pianos in E, 1823, (MS. Thematic Catalogue, p. 24). Cadenza composed by J. Moscheles. Piano 1, autograph part.
  4. (fol. 8) Fragments of duets, 'Lehrer' and 'Schüler'.
  5. (fols. 9-10) 'Chant' in C minor, words not given.
  6. (fols. 11-12) Pp. 52-53 of ? Trio for violin, cello and piano in D major, dated 3 Mar.
  7. (fols. 13-23) Copyists' parts, [op. 96], 'Concerto pastorale', violin 1, violas, 'cello with bass.


  • 1823, n.d.


27 Leaves


MS. M. Deneke Mendelssohn c. 86

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Bequeathed by Helena Deneke, 1973.

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom