Skip to main content
Bodleian Archives & Manuscripts will be unavailable for several hours on the morning of Tuesday 9th March 2021 for system maintenance.

'Oedipus' [MWV M14]. Full score of the incidental music to Sophocles' tragedy Oedipus in Kolonos , 1845-1846

MS. M. Deneke Mendelssohn c. 96

  • How to
Full score of the incidental music to Sophocles's tragedy Oedipus in Kolonos [MWV M14], composed 1845. Professional copy in the hand of the Leipzig bassoonist and copyist Friedrich Louis Weissenborn (1815-62), with a presentation inscription from the composer to Franz Hauser, dated 2 Aug. 1846 (p. 1). Copied from the score in the composer's own collection (a professional copy with autograph corrections, now in the Biblioteka Jagiellońska, Kraków, Mus. ms. autogr Mendelssohn 40). In the Kraków score Mendelssohn marked the second movement to be omitted, and this has been done in the present MS, and the succeeding movements renumbered accordingly. The omitted movement reappears in the posthumously published first edition (1852).


  • 1845-1846


198 pages


MS. M. Deneke Mendelssohn c. 96

Custodial History

Owned by Franz Hauser, 1846; Henryk Tyskiewica (after 1885); Patrick Cramer.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Bought and given by the German Friends of the Bodleian, 1993.

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom