Skip to main content

Correspondence, Dec 1981-May 1985

CCO 508/1/49

  • Request

Comprises correspondence of Sir Henry Plumb MEP, arranged as follows:

  1. CCO 508/1/49/1 - Group and policy-related correspondence, Dec 1981-Sep 1983;
  2. CCO 508/1/49/2 - General correspondence, chiefly with members of the public, Feb 1982-Oct 1984;
  3. CCO 508/1/49/3 - Group and policy-related correspondence, Feb 1982-May 1985.

Correspondents include:

  1. Bainbridge, Timothy, EDG Secretariat [CCO 508/1/49/1];
  2. Biffen, John, Lord Privy Seal (outgoing only) [CCO 508/1/49/3];
  3. Brittan, Leon, Home Secretary (outgoing only) [CCO 508/1/49/3];
  4. Carrington, 6th Baron (Peter Carington), Foreign Secretary (outgoing only) [CCO 508/1/49/3];
  5. Dankert, Piet, President of the European Parliament [CCO 508/1/49/1];
  6. de Ferranti, Basil, MEP for Hampshire West [CCO 508/1/49/1];
  7. De La Malène, Christian, Chairman, Group of European Progressive Democrats in the European Parliament [CCO 508/1/49/3];
  8. Fraga, Manuel, Leader, Alianza Popular Party of Spain (outgoing only) [CCO 508/1/49/3];
  9. Low, Charles, son of Conservative peer Lord Aldington [CCO 508/1/49/2];
  10. Hooper, Angela, Deputy Director of the Organisation Department, Conservative Central Office [CCO 508/1/49/1];
  11. Hord, Brian, MEP for London West [CCO 508/1/49/1];
  12. Mayhew, Patrick, Minister of State, Home Office [CCO 508/1/49/1];
  13. Møller, Paul, Danish MEP and member of the EDG [CCO 508/1/49/1];
  14. Moorhouse, James, MEP for London South [CCO 508/1/49/3];
  15. Nott, John, Defence Secretary (outgoing only) [CCO 508/1/49/1];
  16. Parkinson, Cecil, Chairman of the Conservative Party and Paymaster-General (outgoing only) [CCO 508/1/49/3];
  17. Pearce, Andrew, MEP for Cheshire West [CCO 508/1/49/1; CCO 508/1/49/3];
  18. Pflimlin, Pierre, President of the European Parliament (outgoing only) [CCO 508/1/49/3];
  19. Rifkind, Malcolm, Minister of State, Foreign and Commonwealth Office [CCO 508/1/49/3];
  20. Schlüter, Poul, Prime Minister of Denmark (outgoing only) [CCO 508/1/49/3];
  21. Tindemans, Leo, Foreign Minister of Belgium (outgoing only) [CCO 508/1/49/3];
  22. Thatcher, Margaret, Prime Minister and Leader of the Conservative Party (outgoing only) [CCO 508/1/49/3];
  23. Thorn, Gaston, President of the Commission of the European Communities (outgoing only) [CCO 508/1/49/3];
  24. Tyrrell, Alan, MEP for London East [CCO 508/1/49/1];
  25. Van Hulle, André, President, European Training and Development Centre for Farming and Rural Life (CEPFAR) [CCO 508/1/49/1];
  26. Young, Baroness (Janet Young), Leader of the House of Lords [CCO 508/1/49/1].

Subjects include:

  1. Agriculture and food exports;
  2. Enquiries about employment or work experience with the Conservative Delegation;
  3. European integration;
  4. Falklands War;
  5. Miners' strike;
  6. South Africa.


  1. Briefing note on the Progressive Party of Greece and the request of Apostolos Papageorgiou to join the EDG, Jan 1982 [CCO 508/1/49/1];
  2. Copy of Labour Party report on the visit of a Labour Party delegation to the European Commission, 30 Nov-1 Dec 1981 [CCO 508/1/49/1];
  3. '10 Months On: Developments and Prospects', report produced by Pierre Pflimlin on his presidency of the European Parliament, 25 Apr 1985 [CCO 508/1/49/3].


  • Creation: Dec 1981-May 1985


1 box (3 folders)

Language of Materials

  • English

Includes correspondence in French.

Conditions Governing Access

Some material (CCO 508/1/49/2) is closed.


CCO 508/1/49

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom