Skip to main content

Correspondence, Jul 1979-Dec 1981

CCO 508/1/47

  • Request


  1. CCO 508/1/47/1 - Correspondence of Sir James Scott-Hopkins MEP with members of the British Government, Jul 1979-Apr 1981;
  2. CCO 508/1/47/2 - Correspondence of Sir James Scott-Hopkins MEP with members of the British Government, May-Dec 1981.

Correspondents include:

  1. Atkins, Humphrey, Secretary of State for Northern Ireland;
  2. Butler, Adam, Minister of State, Department of Industry [CCO 508/1/47/1];
  3. Carrington, 6th Baron (Peter Carington), Foreign Secretary;
  4. Denham, 2nd Baron (Bertram Bowyer), Government Chief Whip in the House of Lords [CCO 508/1/47/2];
  5. du Cann, Edward, MP for Taunton and Chairman, 1922 Committee [CCO 508/1/47/1];
  6. Fowler, Norman, Minister of Transport [CCO 508/1/47/1];
  7. Gilmour, Sir Ian, Lord Privy Seal [CCO 508/1/47/1];
  8. Gow, Ian, MP for Eastbourne and PPS to the Prime Minister [CCO 508/1/47/1];
  9. Heath, Edward, MP for Sidcup and former Prime Minister [CCO 508/1/47/2];
  10. Heseltine, Michael, Secretary of State for the Enviornment [CCO 508/1/47/2];
  11. Howe, Sir Geoffrey, Chancellor of the Exchequer [CCO 508/1/47/1];
  12. Jackson, Christopher, MEP for Kent East [CCO 508/1/47/2];
  13. Jopling, Michael, Government Chief Whip;
  14. Lamont, Norman, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Department for Energy;
  15. Luce, Richard, Minister of State, Foreign and Commonwealth Office [CCO 508/1/47/2];
  16. Maitland, Sir Donald, United Kingdom Permenant Representative to the European Communities [CCO 508/1/47/1];
  17. Marsden, William, Assistant Head of the European Community Department, Foreign and Commonwealth Office;
  18. Miller, Hilary (Hal), MP for Bromsgrove and Redditch [CCO 508/1/47/1];
  19. Parkinson, Cecil, Minister for Trade [CCO 508/1/47/1];
  20. Pym, Francis, Defence Secretary, later Leader of the House of Commons [CCO 508/1/47/1];
  21. Ridley, Nicholas, Minister of State, Foreign and Commonwealth Office, later Financial Secretary to the Treasury;
  22. Thatcher, Margaret, Prime Minister and Leader of the Conservative Party;
  23. Tebbit, Norman, Secretary of State for Employment [CCO 508/1/47/2];
  24. Warner, Sir Fred, MEP for Somerset [CCO 508/1/47/1];
  25. Whitelaw, William, Home Secretary [CCO 508/1/47/1];
  26. Younger, George, Secretary of State for Scotland [CCO 508/1/47/1].

Subjects include:

  1. British Presidency of the EEC;
  2. Government reshuffle, 1981;
  3. Northern Ireland;
  4. Relations between the Conservatives in the European Parliament and the Government;
  5. Trade policy;
  6. Visits of ministers and senior Party figures to the European Parliament.


  1. Sir Fred Catherwood and Sir Fred Warner, memorandum on the relationship between British Conservative MEPs and a British Conservative Government, 16 Jan 1980;
  2. Sir James Scott-Hopkins, document outlining lines of possible action for the British presidency of the EEC, prepared for the Foreign Secretary, 22 Apr 1981;
  3. 'British Membership of the Exchange Rate Mechanism of the European Monetary System', EDG memorandum prepared for the British Government, Jun 1981;
  4. Northern Ireland: Points at Issue, briefing document produced by the Northern Ireland Office for overseas diplomats, with covering letter from Humphrey Atkins, 10 Sep 1981.


  • Creation: Jul 1979-Dec 1981


1 box (2 folders)

Language of Materials

  • English


CCO 508/1/47


Arranged in reverse chronological order.

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom