Skip to main content

Sir James Scott-Hopkins MEP - EDG Chairman and Leader of the Conservative Delegation (1979-1982), 1979-1981


  • How to


  • Creation: 1979-1981

Language of Materials

  • English

Full range of shelfmarks:

CCO 508/1/4-6, CCO 508/1/47-48.

Biographical / Historical

Following the first direct elections to the European Parliament in 1979, Sir James Scott-Hopkins was appointed to lead the greatly-expanded Conservative Delegation. An MEP from the time of British accession, Scott-Hopkins had previously served as a Vice-President of the European Parliament, and as Deputy Chairman of the European Conservative Group. Upon the meeting of the new parliament, Scott-Hopkins assumed the Chairmanship of the newly-constituted European Democratic Group, a position he held until 1982. He subsequently remained an MEP until his retirement at the 1994 European Elections.

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom