Skip to main content

Leadership Correspondence, 1973-1997


  • How to

File descriptions in this series include lists of key correspondents, subjects, and items of historical interest. It should be noted that these lists are intended to illustrate the contents of these files, and are not exhaustive.


  • Creation: 1973-1997

Language of Materials

  • English

Biographical / Historical

The position of Leader (sometimes styled as Chairman) of the Conservative Delegation to the European Parliament has varied considerably in scope over the years. Originally an appointment made by the Leader of the Conservative Party, from 1973-1992 the position of Delegation Leader was held concurrently alongside the Chairmanship of the European Conservative Group in the European Parliament (European Democratic Group from 1979 onwards). Since 1992, the position of Delegation Leader has been elected by the Conservative MEPs themselves, and has been held concurrently alongside the Chairmanship of the British Section within the Delegation's parliamentary grouping (the European People's Party (EPP) Group from 1992-1999, the Group of the European People's Party and European Democrats (EPP-ED) from 1999-2009, and the European Conservative and Reformists (ECR) Group from 2009). An exception to this was the period 1993-1996, during which the Leadership of the Conservative Delegation and the Chairmanship of the British Section were two distinct, separate positions.


Where possible, the original arrangement and order of correspondence in this series has been retained. Folders described as 'general' or 'additional' correspondence typically comprise loose items and separated materials recombined during the cataloguing process.

Except where noted otherwise, papers within each folder are arranged in chronological order.

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom